What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Page 38-25 steps 10-11 - ?approximately?

iamtheari

Well Known Member
I am a lucky builder who had to get the 24x36 canopy templates page printed from a PDF. I now have the side templates printed, cut out, and taped to my plane. However, the edge that defines the fairing comes out to 5/16? aft of the forward canopy line at Point Sierra on both sides of the canopy. Given that the templates go perfectly from the aft edge of C-01418 to where I marked Point Sierra, I don?t feel it?s too likely they are printed out of proportion. The plans say that the outboard fairing line and forward fairing line should ?approximately? line up. The plans don?t say what to do if they are off by 1/4? or so. Any ideas?

I had to print mine out using a printer as well. I don't recall there being any alignment issues. The most critical alignment issue is the aft edge that contacts the plexiglass, as that may have an impact on aesthetics. If the forward edges don't line up perfectly you should be able to correct and blend all of that with micro/filler after performing the layups. You can also redraw the template a little wider fore and aft to make them lineup better. You can cut out the template and trace the template a little larger on the forward side.

I used the template from Van's and had the same concerns. It didn't appear that they would cover correctly. Plus, when watching the video's on the process the template cutout looks completely different and caused panic after I already cut everything. Move on you will see that everything lays out nicely and as the video shows, if there are some small pieced you need to cut, just do it. Sanding will fix everything.