What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Weight and Balance Question.

Farmdawg

I'm New Here
Hello All <S>.

I am completely new to the RV forum and the RV world. I like what I see and with me being retired Navy working with Aircraft for 23 Years I'm quite sure of my abilities to build one of these fine Aircraft. I like the RV-7 and that's what I'm leaning toward. But, I have a question that has been on my mind.

Weight and Balance? Would it be practical for me to build one with us and our weights. I weight 230 and my nonstandard FAA Wife well, I'll leave it at that. Total pax weight that I use for our 172 is 450lb. Where would that put us in an RV-7 weight and balance sheet? What's left over for any baggage?

I know that it is dependent on what options are installed and I would be going with steam gauges and a small GPS unit.

In advance, Thank you.

Mike aka "Farmdawg"

Not to get into the details, which are available via search, expect 1100-1150 for empty weight and 1800 max gross.

42 gallons of gas = 252 lbs (roughly)

So, 1150 gross leaves 398 for pax and luggage.

Also consider the RV-14 in your calculations.

Last edited:
You need to find someone in Ohio who will let both of you sit in a -7. Besides weight concerns, it may just feel too cramped (depending on your height, width, etc.). As mentioned, the -14 is significantly more roomy.
BTW, you may find that a "glass" panel is actually cheaper than conventional steam gauges (don't forget the cost of a vacuum pump, engine instruments), and it certainly will save a few pounds.
Good luck in your research!

W&b

Weight is one thing upper body strength to get in and out is another . Might look at the 10 as it has doors .