VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 11-12-2017, 07:33 AM
von_flyer von_flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Posts: 118
Default Garmin 335 wizard

Where is this Garmin 335 wizard they speak of??

Installation is further simplified as Garmin has created a configuration wizard which streamlines the GTX 335 with GPS configuration process, ...
__________________
John von Linsowe

Michigan
RV-7
Cessna 140
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2017, 04:01 PM
Don Jones's Avatar
Don Jones Don Jones is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 643
Default I looked too!

I looked for it too, probably only available to their dealers
__________________
Don Jones
Technical Support Manager
Dynon Avionics
CFI-IA, AGI, IGI
RV9-A
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2017, 03:07 PM
JohnInReno's Avatar
JohnInReno JohnInReno is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Prescott Valley/Chandler AZ
Posts: 250
Default Ground mode

I am not trying to high-jack this thread, but my professionally installed 335 won't go into ground mode like it should. The shop said it is a Garmin problem and Garmin confirmed. I manually used Standby to pass the rebate test on the second try.

Anyone else experience this?
__________________
John Morgensen
RV-9A N946PM 400+ hours since 2013
Nevada/Arizona
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2017, 03:30 PM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 1,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by von_flyer View Post
Where is this Garmin 335 wizard they speak of??

Installation is further simplified as Garmin has created a configuration wizard which streamlines the GTX 335 with GPS configuration process, ...

I have a copy I can send you, along with the instructions.

Garmin allows A&Ps to install the 335 but require a dealer to install the 345.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ Catto 3 blade NLE, AFP FM-150 FI, 1 PMag, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter,
PlanePower Alt, FlightLines Interior, James cowl & plenum
All lines by TSFlightLines
NSDQ

"The object of the game, gentlemen, is not to cheat death: the object is not to let him play."
Patrick Poteen, Sgt. U.S. Army


- - 2016/17 donation compliant - -
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2017, 09:11 PM
von_flyer von_flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Posts: 118
Default Found it

I purchased a Garmin GTX-335 and am installing it myself. I couldn't find the wizard and other documents I heard mentioned in various forums, etc. Today I registered my radio with Garmin and low and behold I now have access to all kinds of information, documents and yes, the wizard. I think there is a secret handshake mentioned somewhere in there as well.
__________________
John von Linsowe

Michigan
RV-7
Cessna 140
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2017, 10:55 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 4,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnInReno View Post
I am not trying to high-jack this thread, but my professionally installed 335 won't go into ground mode like it should. The shop said it is a Garmin problem and Garmin confirmed. I manually used Standby to pass the rebate test on the second try.

Anyone else experience this?
This shows that the test is flawed. Standby is not the same as ground. You basically turned the transponder off and it gave you a pass.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2017, 02:22 AM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 8,808
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by von_flyer View Post
I purchased a Garmin GTX-335 and am installing it myself. I couldn't find the wizard and other documents I heard mentioned in various forums, etc. Today I registered my radio with Garmin and low and behold I now have access to all kinds of information, documents and yes, the wizard. I think there is a secret handshake mentioned somewhere in there as well.
Yes, but you don't really need the wizard. All of the programming can be done through the front panel buttons per the section in the manual. I did it that way.
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2017, 07:08 AM
swordtail swordtail is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Grindstone, PA
Posts: 91
Default

take a look at youtube for a video. There are several posted, the one from Stark avionics is great. Surprising how much aviation information that is available on that site.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-14-2017, 08:32 AM
olyolson's Avatar
olyolson olyolson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 637
Default GTX-335

I just installed a GTX-335 but never heard of the wizard. I registered the transponder but never received info about any wizard. I configured it on the front face with install manual open (post installation checks- section 6) stepping through the process with the function button on the front. Each sub area of the functions has several sub menus accessed by pressing the down & up arrows (buttons 8 & 9).

There were several tricky parts

- Trying to figure out what format to use for the RS232 altitude source IN from the G5. There were descriptions in the install menu for everything but the G5. Had to call Garmin, ended up using ALT FMT 1 25 ft for the format but you also need to select RS232 1 for the source from the G5 #1 RS232. The G5 has 2 RS232 outputs I think.

- Was also a little fun trying to figure out how to program the remote ident (right China hat button on my stick). It's in the discrete menu and if wired correctly on the appropriate PIN it will come up automatically (J2351-36) when you select IDENT

- the funnest & most time consuming was trying to enter the N number & ICAO address from your registration card (yep- the one you carry on the airplane). It's not real obvious what order you press buttons to get the values to change but eventually you'll figure out how to do it. When I did, the N number input was easy but the flight ID is entered as OCT or HECTAL which I had no idea. I found the ICAO address on the registration card but it would only enter the right number of digits when I selected HECTAL.

Those were the tricky ones, the rest of the configuration was pretty straight forward and easy to figure out.

The GTX-335 passed the ADSB-out verification on the first flight. I was flight following with departure control for traffic advisories as I was flying the verification profile. Little bit of heads down time doing two 360s, climbs & descents, N/S and E/W tracks etc. We did a couple squawk changes and the controller said the codes popped up immediately. Altitude was also spot on.
__________________
RV-4, IFR
AEIO-360, Hartzell C/S
RV grin every flight
"Sure is nice to have smart friends"

Last edited by olyolson : 11-14-2017 at 08:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-14-2017, 09:03 AM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 8,808
Exclamation Gotcha

One other little "gotcha" that may crop up.

I would have thought that the altitude corrections would have a preset default to zero, but apparently I don't think like a Garmin programmer.

Once you set maximum altitude - 18,000 in my case - the unit defaults to 3 altitude calibration set points. You need to access each of those points and set them to zero correction to make the unit operate.

The required check by a certified avionics station will adjust these zero numbers if needed and based on a VFR or IFR certification.
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.