VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #11  
Old 10-28-2017, 12:59 PM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,114
Default

I wish I had mounted mine remotely as I would not have a hole to plug in my new panel.
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-28-2017, 07:50 PM
Canadian_JOY Canadian_JOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,402
Default

Ron - a thought or two for your consideration...

I have a CO Guardian unit that is now 12 years old and still going strong, but of course that's because we're not flying yet.

When I spoke to the folks at C0 Guardian I was actually speaking with the owner's daughter. Whe provided me with tons of very useful information. One item which came as a bit of a wake up call was the stipulation that VOCs drastically reduce the life of the sensor. When I advised I was still building the airplane while my CO detector was aging out, I was told to remove it from the panel / airplane if I was going to be using any chemicals, especially solvents and paints.

I followed her advice and our unit is still functional. I also ensure it is powered off to the greatest extent possible (it's wired to come on with the master). It would be nice to think I might get a year of flying out of it before having to replace it (same deal as you - can't service the old unit, must buy a new one).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-28-2017, 09:47 PM
n82rb's Avatar
n82rb n82rb is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: fort myers fl
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmilingJack View Post
Mine has to be replaced...I have 7 years on it and it has worked perfectly!

But, I share a simliar frustration about price and product.

My CoGuardian model I purchaed 7 years ago is no longer avialable and they can NOT recalibrate it. Not sure why...they build it, why can’t they just replace the guts???

Now, I wouldn’t object to replacing it with new, but my unit is bigger then the new ones they offer so I would have to rebuild my side panel to make the smaller one fit.
because the "guts" are no longer available. the sensor technology is changing so fast on this type of part, that they be come obsolete very quickly. Figaro sensors just release a new CO sensor that is a giant leap forward. 10 year life, no water bath, 1/10 the size of previous sensors.

bob burns
RV-4
N82RB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-29-2017, 06:56 AM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian_JOY View Post
Ron - a thought or two for your consideration...

I have a CO Guardian unit that is now 12 years old and still going strong, but of course that's because we're not flying yet.

When I spoke to the folks at C0 Guardian I was actually speaking with the owner's daughter. Whe provided me with tons of very useful information. One item which came as a bit of a wake up call was the stipulation that VOCs drastically reduce the life of the sensor. When I advised I was still building the airplane while my CO detector was aging out, I was told to remove it from the panel / airplane if I was going to be using any chemicals, especially solvents and paints.

I followed her advice and our unit is still functional. I also ensure it is powered off to the greatest extent possible (it's wired to come on with the master). It would be nice to think I might get a year of flying out of it before having to replace it (same deal as you - can't service the old unit, must buy a new one).
I placed my order for mine on Feb. 12, 2016 and flew in Aug. of that year. All my painting was carried out in another building. I'm willing to bet that your boxed unit would need to be sent back for calibration according to the manufacturer before they would suggest using it if it's 12 years old.
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-29-2017, 10:34 AM
Canadian_JOY Canadian_JOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,402
Default

I've performed a live CO test on the unit and it alarms reliably... so far! I would love to have a 10 or more year sensor as I agree with other posters - the per-flight-hour cost of this sensor, with its short life, is very high.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-29-2017, 03:50 PM
tgmillso tgmillso is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n82rb View Post
because the "guts" are no longer available. the sensor technology is changing so fast on this type of part, that they be come obsolete very quickly. Figaro sensors just release a new CO sensor that is a giant leap forward. 10 year life, no water bath, 1/10 the size of previous sensors.

bob burns
RV-4
N82RB
Great find Bob. I checked and the most applicable unit I can find on their website is the CMM5042. It has a 0-2V output and some simple pinouts we can connect to so I am thinking that we should be able to feed this into the Garmin GEA 24 or similar, then flag specified alarm levels. Only problem is I haven't found yet where to source the CMM5042. Anyone know where to purchase one of these?
Regards,
Tom.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-14-2017, 05:15 PM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,114
Default

I wrote an E-mail to sales as to my situation and how I felt about my unit and the sales department agreed to replace the unit at no cost. As per forum rules, I never revealed the manufacturer with my post, therefore I feel I should not reveal them during my praise. They know who they are, Thanks.
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-14-2017, 05:54 PM
tgmillso tgmillso is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 479
Default

Bob, or anyone else,
Do you know where to source the CMM5042 sensor? I have contacted Figaro directly, however they appear to be uninterested in selling a single sensor, and Internet searches yield nothing. I'd sure love to be able to track one down.
Tom.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-15-2017, 02:34 PM
StickNRudder StickNRudder is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 24
Default

I got a 10year unit from Home Depot which has a display that shows ppm. It is part of my scan. I currently am seeing 30 ppm which I am trying to track down. If I had an alarm only, I wouldn’t know about it.
__________________
Rick Woods
N5427W == Jack, Hank, Barbara, and Rick Woods.
RV-7
Flying, but not done, never done.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-16-2017, 03:14 AM
tgmillso tgmillso is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 479
Default

Hi Rick. My plan B if I can't find one of these particular sensors is to just take an off the shelf sensor like you suggest, solder a connector to it's alarm and feed it into my G3X system discrete inputs. I just wanted to be able to trigger an audible alarm in my intercom without having to drop $300USD on something that doesn't make my aircraft go any faster!
Tom.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.