VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 10-25-2017, 03:26 PM
cdeerinck's Avatar
cdeerinck cdeerinck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 252
Question Running a ELT antenna after the fact

I thought I had finished up my tail-cone wiring, but I missed the ELT Anetannae wire. It needs to run from the rear battery box area to the tail.

Does anyone have any suggestions on techniques to use to run a cable through the bulkheads that would be ok for this application, including how to secure it and make sure it doesn't chafe on anything?

As a new builder, I haven't run into this type of situation before, but I am sure that for many of you with more experience with retrofits and repairs this would be a piece of cake.

Is securing it to the elevator pushrod a viable choice, or would that be a bad choice?
__________________
~Chuck

DG-800S Sailplane
QB RV-8 -- Working on the canopy and wiring
84CX Reserved

Last edited by cdeerinck : 10-25-2017 at 03:37 PM. Reason: Type in title
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2017, 03:35 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdeerinck View Post
SNIP
Is securing it to the elevator pushrod a viable choice, or would that be a bad choice?
A very bad choice.

Running wires is not not hard - donít over think it.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2017, 03:38 PM
Mel's Avatar
Mel Mel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 9,644
Default

Please do NOT run ELT antenna cable "through" bulkheads. In a crash the bulkhead can be deformed and cut the cable. Try to run the cable "around" the bulkheads and loosely ty-wrap to them.
__________________
Mel Asberry..DAR since last century
A&P/EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Specializing in Amateur-Built and Light-Sport Aircraft
<n168tx(at)flytx.net>
North Texas (8TA5)
RV-6 Flying since 1993
175hp O-320
3-Blade Catto (since 2003)
FRIEND of the RV-1
Eagle's Nest Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2017, 03:51 PM
cdeerinck's Avatar
cdeerinck cdeerinck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 252
Default

Mel - By "through", I meant through one of the lightening holes. I can't "go around" without being outside of the airplane.

My problem is that the BNC antenna won't go through any of grommets already in place, and access in the tailcone is borderline impossible now that it is closed up, so I am struggling with how to secure the wire.

Carl - Thanks for the "bad choice" confirmation, I thought that was probably the case. Unfortunately just saying it isn't hard, doesn't help be proceed when I don't know the accepted practice.
__________________
~Chuck

DG-800S Sailplane
QB RV-8 -- Working on the canopy and wiring
84CX Reserved
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2017, 04:00 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdeerinck View Post
SNIP
My problem is that the BNC antenna won't go through any of grommets already in place...SNIP
Run a piece of coax then install a crimp on BNC connector. If you donít have the tools and/or know how to do this, find someone who does. This is one of those things all RV owners need to be able to do.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2017, 07:53 PM
cdeerinck's Avatar
cdeerinck cdeerinck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 252
Default

Yes, I can splice a new cable, and have done that before. I guess I was just hoping not to just cut it apart and put it back again. But I will.

So can I just run it between each bulkhead, and leave it unsupported otherwise?

From what I understand, I should not secure them tightly, as I don't want the wire destroyed if the fuselage is distorted in a crash.
__________________
~Chuck

DG-800S Sailplane
QB RV-8 -- Working on the canopy and wiring
84CX Reserved
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2017, 10:12 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdeerinck View Post
Yes, I can splice a new cable, and have done that before. I guess I was just hoping not to just cut it apart and put it back again. SBIP
No - you do not spliced coax. Cut the BNC connector off, run the cable, install a new BNC connector.

Carl
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.