VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 11-05-2017, 08:51 AM
yankee-flyer yankee-flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 833
Default ME406 error codes

I think I have problems. Started the C.I yesterday and checked the ELT. G-switch test was fine, and the functional test also gave the sweep tones. But when I switched back to "Arm" instead of one flash of the light I got three flashes, then 4 more. A second check of the G-switch (not connected to the airplane) still gave the sweep tones but then the light on the ELT flashed 3 times, then 4. Battery is good until 2021. Anyone else run into this?

Wayne 120241/143WM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2017, 09:42 AM
Jetguy's Avatar
Jetguy Jetguy is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, Fort Worth
Posts: 1,216
Default

When you tested it was the fuel tank installed with the antenna and ELT installed in the final flight set up? What does the C.I. mean? Annual?Back when we first started building the 12 you got different test responses from the ELT unless everything was installed and ready for flight. Not having the fuel tank installed definitely caused to not test correctly.
__________________
John
RV12 N1212K
Flying Since June 2010
1020 Hours as of 9/30/2017
Jetguy@att.net
RV14 Wing, arrived and building at Rdog's new Hanger at 16X
S/N 140014
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2017, 12:07 PM
Jetguy's Avatar
Jetguy Jetguy is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, Fort Worth
Posts: 1,216
Default

Oh yeah, condition inspect, duh!
__________________
John
RV12 N1212K
Flying Since June 2010
1020 Hours as of 9/30/2017
Jetguy@att.net
RV14 Wing, arrived and building at Rdog's new Hanger at 16X
S/N 140014
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2017, 01:18 PM
Canadian_JOY Canadian_JOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,402
Default

If you are testing the unit without the antenna connected (and the antenna connected to a ground plain) then you are likely to get these errors. Note that if you have caused the unit to transmit without an antenna connected there is some possibility the unit's RF power amplifier section has been damaged.

A good rule with any radio equipment and especially with ELTs, is to not touch them unless an appropriate antenna is connected. (Note: for a 406MHz ELT, using a "rubber ducky" antenna from your VHF handheld radio does NOT count as "an appropriate antenna".)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2017, 06:12 PM
yankee-flyer yankee-flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 833
Default Tank was installed; Shorting plug was installed for the G-switch test

Shorting plug was installed for the G-switch test
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2017, 09:29 AM
RFSchaller RFSchaller is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,115
Default

What method are you using to test the G switch? How do you let NOAA know you are testing the 406? The old 121.5 units have the grace period to test on the hour, but the new 406 units donít seem to be covered.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2017, 09:45 AM
rvbuilder2002 rvbuilder2002 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hubbard Oregon
Posts: 6,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RFSchaller View Post
What method are you using to test the G switch? How do you let NOAA know you are testing the 406? The old 121.5 units have the grace period to test on the hour, but the new 406 units donít seem to be covered.
The first 406 Mhz transmit burst occurs 50 seconds after initial activation, and it only takes a few seconds to confirm it activated.

This is covered in the ELT testing section of the AIM
__________________
Any opinions expressed in this message are my own and not necessarily those of my employer.

Scott McDaniels
Hubbard, Oregon
RV-6A (aka "Junkyard Special ")
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2017, 07:50 AM
yankee-flyer yankee-flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 833
Default Problem found

One of the really riny black wires (apparently to the buzzer??) was broken at the crimp connection. Now have three audible sweeps and only one flash after doing back to arm position. Scott is right- satellite ignores transmissions under 50 seconds-- no need to notify NOAA.

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-07-2017, 09:58 AM
RFSchaller RFSchaller is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,115
Default

Thanks, Scott.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:16 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.