What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Stratus 1 repair

olyolson

Well Known Member
Friend
I use an IPAD MINI with Foreflight for cross countries. It is a great combination and works well, until yesterday. The charging connection on the front of the unit came out with the charging cable and now I have no way to charge it.

I know there are a lot of smart guys out there that can repair anything so does anyone know how to fix this? I called the Appareo guys this morning and they said they don't usually repair this but they would give me a small partial credit toward the Stratus 2. The IPAD still works well in Foreflight mode since it has the Retina display with the built in GPS but just doesn't give any weather info without the Stratus.

I am not good with small electrical stuff, anyone want to help out?

Oly

That's charged through a USB port, right? If so it should not be terribly difficult. What I hate are the proprietary connectors that can't be found anywhere.

If it's USB I can probably fix it... I've just got enough half baked projects it might take me a while to do it. Bet you've got a local pilot/ham friend who's handy with a soldering iron though.

[edit: See, I was right!]

Stratus 1

It charges with a USB cable but the port that goes into the stratus for charging is a tiny port, the same type I use to charge my Samsung Galaxy phone.

Oly

Yeah... micro USB. No biggie, it's a common connector easily sourced from places like Mouser or Digikey. I don't think I have seen one that's not surface mount, but most hams can deal with it.

same thing