What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Back To dimples again!!!

vluvelin

Well Known Member
Was not happy with my dimples with DRDT-2 and (dies from popular store 426-3 )
1) fit of rivet in dimple is not complete
2) dimple not crisp not well defined
3) nesting
Many people suggested C-frame makes it much better tried that no difference in results (for me).

NOTEs
1) Dies are not defective purchased 6 sets in total during 2 years period.
2) Reason for this post is to understand if
I have no knowledge in the subject ( most likely)
or
developer of this dies didn't spend enough time to tune them
or
because they try 1 size fit all solution

Please review and comment. I am new guy in aviation and hold only home school diplomas in everything I do. So please don’t shoot!!!

Here is dimple I managed to get using DRDT-2 and Modified dies
Material .032
DRDT2 preload material thickness - 1.25 turns
Drill bit used #40 Double margin
Hole final size Original dies 2.65mm -.104 Modified dies 2.70mm -.106
sorry fill better in metric

Rivets_Fit.jpg

ModOr_1.jpg

ModOr_3.jpg

ModOr_REAR_view.jpg

ModOr_4.jpg

ModOr_Side_view.jpg

Modified dimple rivet fit
MO_Rivet-fit2_Small.jpg

Modified not deburred
Mo_Bot_No_Debure_Small_Pic.jpg

Mo_Bot_Not_Debure_Small.jpg

Last edited:
Wow. You are DEDICATED to your new craft, sir! All I did was go look at the planes at the airfield and my dimples looked like they did so I went with it. :D :p

1. You don't say how you "modified" the dimple dies, please elaborate.
2. The modified die holes look much bigger than the .001" difference in your opening post. Did you measure them with a digital caliper?
3. The photos are great. What kind of 24x graduated magnifier did you use?

I used the Cleaveland dimple dies with a pneumatic squeezer and with a C frame. Used the latter with two heavy hits with a dead blow hammer and am quite happy with the results.