What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rear Window Install: Source for #27 Plexi Drill Bits

I'm building an RV-12 and it's about time to install the turtledeck and rear window. The plans call for a #27 Plexiglass drill bit to enlarge the holes on the Lexan rear window. Trouble is, I can't find a source for the #27 plexi drill bits. I've looked at Aircraft Spruce and Cleaveland Aircraft Tools and Amazon (of course).

Any suggestions on where I can source #27 drill bits for plexi/acrylic?

A 27 gage drill bit is 0.144 inches. If I have to resort to a fractional sized plexi bit, what size(s) do you recommend? 1/8" is too small, 5/32" is too bit. Spruce has them in 1/8, 5/32, and 3/16.

I've never worked on a canopy before. Any techniques or suggestions are also most welcome and appreciated.

Thanks,
Harry
RV-12, Palo Alto, CA

I usually use McMaster.. but for some reason, for the plexi bits, it looks like I used Abbeon (maybe McMaster didn't have the size I needed at the time?). Abbeon is a plastics mfg company, so they have all kinds of crazy tools for plastic.

https://www.abbeon.com/Item--i-2118

As far as advice.. nothing special. Make sure the temperature is "normal".. don't do it on a cold day.. light pressure. the bit will tend to melt away the material while it drills, so you get that weird plastic wiff once in awhile. I did crack my rear window in a place where its hard to see (so I did not replace it!) -- It happened when I was screwing in a screw near the top/center of the plexi. I think the hole was either not drilled or tapped straight.. or the holes in the plastic didn't line up exactly with the hole in the plastic.. I don't really remember.. anyway, the crack was about 1.5" and I stop drilled it and filled it with some sealant. If it breaks further, it breaks.. but I'm going to get my moneys worth out of this plexi!

Last edited: