What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

W&B question

uk_figs

Well Known Member
Friend
I have two bags in my -7 for tie downs and tools etc that are strapped in between the flap control rod and the back of the pilot/pax seats. From a W&B standpoint would you treat these as pilot/pax weight or baggage weight.

It makes quite a CG difference with 2 up, baggage and min fuel.

I created a spreadsheet with these as a separate station and arm/moment (114.78) but wondered if I am being too anal :)

I'm an engineer - I'd do what you did and create a measured station for them. Why estimate and be less accurate?

What Paul said is best although if I were going to choose between pilot / passenger vs baggage, I think it's more conservative to treat as baggage since the RV7s I've seen move the CG aft over the course of a flight as the fuel burns.

Dan

You know what the datum is I believe it is 70 inches to the leading edge of the wing... I would have to look this up.. just measure from that point to where your placing the bags and get an accurate arm. then add it to your calculations as a seperate line entry.. you might not always carry the bags so to eliminate the weight is handy too.
Jack

Figs,
I agree on all.
Also check the baggage area.
It can be split in two.
Heavy close to seats and light weight in the back
Very general station # IIRC
Also check pilot and co pilot stations.

Hope this helps.

See ya in Oshkosh:eek::eek::cool:

All valid inputs

Thanks for the inputs, the question was somewhat driven by me buying a W&B app for my iPhone to find it only had Pilot/Pax, baggage and fuel stations with no apparent ability to add additional stations.

Think I will stick with my spreadsheet but measure and add the specific baggage stations as suggested above