What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

NEWBIE to Forum RV-14 or RV-7A

rkiefer2

Well Known Member
Hello Everyone,

This is my first official post in VAF. Im a Private Pilot getting ready to start my first build and the jury is still out on the RV7A vs. RV14A.

My mission: 2 seat aerobatic capable of long cross countries comfortably.

I've sat in the RV14 and rode in an RV7A a few times and going back and forth about which to build.

I've ready plenty of forums with people similar to my size 6'3'' 240 lbs fitting in the RV7s w/o any issues. Still a little uneasy about not being comfortable and people keep mentioning concerns with the nose wheel.

I can swing the $$$ for the RV14 over time, but like the affordability of the RV7. Just don't want to wish I would have spent the extra money for the 14 to gain the space if I go the RV7A path.

Additionally I like the idea of the new instructions and less fab time on the RV14 especially being a new builder.

Thoughts on my path? Anyone my size regret or would have went with a 14 if it was available when the started?

Roger

Welcome to the good ship, as Mike will say shortly.

I don't think you will ever wish you had gone with a -7 if you build the -14" but very likely may regret going with a -7 instead of the -14. If you can afford it, then that's probably your best bet. You can fit in a -7, but the -14 will fit you much better, especially for long flights.

Last edited:
You might want to double check the relative fab times of the -7 vs -14. I've heard stories from very reliable sources that the -14 is not nearly as easy to build as was anticipated.

You might want to double check the relative fab times of the -7 vs -14. I've heard stories from very reliable sources that the -14 is not nearly as easy to build as was anticipated.