What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What spark plug tools do I need?

kcameron

Well Known Member
I'm want to clean and regap or replace the spark plugs on the RV-4 I bought a couple of months ago. This is my first airplane and I've never worked on this stuff before. I've perused Aircraft Spruce's sparkplug tool offerings but I'm not sure what's really needed.
The engine is an IO-360-A1B with dual slick mags. The plugs are Champion REM38E.

Here's a breakdown of the issues I can think of:

Socket:
Is 7/8" the correct size?
ACS sells this one for ~$50:
http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/topages/gapsettingtool5.php
Is there a more reasonably priced aircraft plug socket?
Can I just use a standard deep socket?​
Cleaning:
Does the "clean screen" work? http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/topages/gapsettingtool6.php
or should I resign myself to setting up a sandblast type cleaner in the hangar (including air compressor)?
Gap adjustment:
Wire type feeler gauge or flat?
Do I need special gap-setting tools such as these?
http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/topages/precisegap.php
http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/topages/electrodespreader.php
Thread protection:
Do I need a thread chaser?
Do I need to use thread antisieze?
Any tips or guidance about standard practices would be appreciated.
E.g.: Do I need to use a torque wrench? I never bothered when working on auto or motorcycle engines but maybe it's more critical on a Lycoming.

Thanks,

Kev

To properly maintain your plugs you will need, at a minimum:
7/8" deep socket. If you have access to all the plugs, this is all you need. Sears sells really nice ones. You can also get one with a hex end so as to put a wrench on it for hard to get plugs, behind the baffling where the socket wrench and extension won't fit.
A gapping tool to regap the plugs.
A gauge, either wire or flat, but I prefer the wire type sold by Champion, etc.