What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Request from California Board of Equalization

Status
Not open for further replies.

Keith Williams

Well Known Member
I sold my RV6 to a California resident a little less than a year ago.

Last week I received from the above California Board a letter with a form asking that within 30 days I certify under penalty of perjury the details of the sale - the date, who I sold it to, the delivery date, delivery location, the price and address details of the buyer.

This information went to the FAA on the Bill of Sale. I wonder if the FAA keeps the details of the sale away from the states.

I am wondering if I am obligated to fill in this form and send it to the Board.

Are any of you familiar with this process?

I'm not a lawyer.............

But it seems to me that this burden would be on the purchaser, not the seller, especially since he/she is the one living in that state.

Of course we ARE talking about California!

Last edited:
As the seller out of Illinois, I would say you have zero obligation to the CBOE.

Last edited:
Zero Obligation

You, as a resident of Illinois, have ZERO obligation to respond to the government of California. They try to pull this sort of **** on military retirees living in other states in an effort to tax some of their retirement income. Just ignore them.

No!

Do not respond. California and every other state get all they need and more from OKC.FAA.:mad:

I suspect that this is an attempt to verify actual cost of sale - suspecting the actual cost of sale is under reported.