What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

IO-390 fuel flow rate

Bavafa

Well Known Member
Just curious what others see for their high end fuel flow, lets say full power at see level?

Yesterday, I saw 20.x GPH on take off at see level which caused my set alarm on G3X to go off. Is that too high for this engine?

I am still dialing in my fuel flow rate and calibration and it might not be super accurate but it is not off by a whole lot.

Agree. Mine runs about 19.5 to 19.7 and I am at 750 ft. above sea level. Unfortunately, Lycoming is not very clear on this, but I convinced myself of what was appropriate from the published Continental numbers. You can look up the 210 horse 360 or scale from one of the other engines, and you will be in this 19.7 to 20.x range.

I work as an engine performance development engineer for a major automotive OEM. Even with all of our fancy equipment it is still good to know the old rule of thumb.

In general I use '1/2 pound of fuel per horsepower per hour' or (0.5 lbs fuel)/(1 hp * 1 hour).

Using that you'll get: 210 hp * (0.5 lbs fuel)/(1 hp * 1 hour) = 105 lbs fuel per hour. The density of gasoline is approximately 6 lbs per gallon, so you're left with an approximation of 17.5 gallons per hour. Given the antique design of these engines it isn't surprising that your value would come in at least 10% over this rule of thumb since the efficiency is so much worse than modern engines. Additionally, you're probably operating rich which would shift the guess.