VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #151  
Old 08-28-2012, 03:58 PM
BillC BillC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ramona, Ca
Posts: 259
Default

As Mike said there are still some software issues to be worked out for full autopilot functionality wit the Dynon and Trio units. I have a beta version installed which replaced my IV. Besides the autopilot communications issue, the docking station/EKP-V still will only talk to one serial device at a time. So if I want XMWX it disconnects the autopilot and if I want autopilot communication to Dynon it disconnects the weather. Both of these issues are known by the factory and are being worked on. I have not been given any date for a new software release but in theory I should be getting a beta version before it is actually released for general use.
By the way, the external antenna works much-much better than the built in unit and seems to acquire satellites faster. The docking station is slick in that it is not much larger than the EKP-V unlike the Air Gizmo units so saves on panel space.

When I have more info I'll let everyone know.

Bill
__________________
Bill RV-9A Flying
FFI- Flight Lead
N99WC
Ramona, CA (KRNM)
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 08-28-2012, 11:00 PM
jimgreen jimgreen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver island, BC Canada
Posts: 375
Default

Thanks for the replies. I can't wait to get mine off my knee and into the panel.
__________________
Jim Green
RV7 tip up
IO360 Whirlwind 200RV
Building RV8 with buddy
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 09-20-2012, 03:06 PM
jimgreen jimgreen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver island, BC Canada
Posts: 375
Default

I went ahead and bought the dock for my V. Fits nicely in the panel and the included external antenna works brilliantly.

So far I can't get it to recognise my D100 or D120.
When I select NMEA output on, it disconnects the external antenna.
The Dynon manual requires the following sentences: RMC, RMB, GGA, and either BOD or APB.
The GPS lists the first three but not BOD or APB, but does have XTE, GSA, GSV.
I have calls in to Dynon and Avmap but no replies so far.

Anyone understand this stuff?
__________________
Jim Green
RV7 tip up
IO360 Whirlwind 200RV
Building RV8 with buddy
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 09-20-2012, 05:54 PM
drill_and_buck's Avatar
drill_and_buck drill_and_buck is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bridgewater, MA - KPYM
Posts: 413
Default

The current AVMAP EKP-V software does not work with Dynon or Trio products. AVMAP is aware of this and is working on a fix.

Software release date is not known at this time. If you find out, please let us know.
__________________
Mike Draper
RV-8 N468RV
First Flight 11/13/2011
TMX0360, Pmags, CS
Bridgewater, MA
KPYM
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 09-20-2012, 09:57 PM
jimgreen jimgreen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver island, BC Canada
Posts: 375
Default

Will do. Too bad they didn't tell me it doesn't work yet.
__________________
Jim Green
RV7 tip up
IO360 Whirlwind 200RV
Building RV8 with buddy
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 09-21-2012, 10:10 PM
jimgreen jimgreen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver island, BC Canada
Posts: 375
Default

Had a call from Miriam today. They have beta software ready and will be sending me a copy next week.
When(if) I get it installed I'll give a shout.
__________________
Jim Green
RV7 tip up
IO360 Whirlwind 200RV
Building RV8 with buddy
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 09-24-2012, 02:49 PM
JediNein JediNein is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimgreen View Post
I went ahead and bought the dock for my V. Fits nicely in the panel and the included external antenna works brilliantly.

So far I can't get it to recognise my D100 or D120.
When I select NMEA output on, it disconnects the external antenna.
The Dynon manual requires the following sentences: RMC, RMB, GGA, and either BOD or APB.
The GPS lists the first three but not BOD or APB, but does have XTE, GSA, GSV.
I have calls in to Dynon and Avmap but no replies so far.

Anyone understand this stuff?
Have you tried using the RMC RMB GGA and APB sequences? And are you using the single connection dock or the really expensive one? I am trying to figure out how best to instruct a new AvMap owner with his RV-9 install.
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 09-24-2012, 03:16 PM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 13,931
Default Welcome to VAF!!

Bridgette, welcome to VAF

Good to have you here.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 09-24-2012, 06:57 PM
JediNein JediNein is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike S View Post
Bridgette, welcome to VAF

Good to have you here.
Thanks. I'm glad to have found this forum.
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 09-24-2012, 07:03 PM
jimgreen jimgreen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver island, BC Canada
Posts: 375
Default

Hi Bridgette.
In conversation with Avmap, they are still working on getting the Avmap V /Dynon D100, D120 to cooperate. The current SW does not output all the required NMEA messages and seems to switch off the ext. antenna if NMEA output is selected.
I have the expensive dock which has 2 serial inputs and 3 or 4 USB ports.
I plan to interface with the Dynon and also my 406 GPS (ACK)
Avmap just sent me a beta software update, but so far it is not doing the job. I'll be calling them tomorrow to make sure it isn't finger trouble on my part.( I am in no way an expert in this stuff.)

They are working on it. I'll post when they have a fix.
__________________
Jim Green
RV7 tip up
IO360 Whirlwind 200RV
Building RV8 with buddy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.