VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 01-15-2017, 01:08 PM
johngoodman's Avatar
johngoodman johngoodman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Peachtree City, Georgia
Posts: 436
Default VP-200 Question

I'm trying to figure out how to boot up my disconnected VP-200, without any devices on it. I need to see the device pages, so I can figure out which pins are assigned to what. No, I don't have the spreadsheet, and I never wrote anything down.
What would it take to power up the CU & DU by themselves? Would the SP need to be in the loop? 12V power on the lug. Do I need the "keep alive" wire? How about grounds?

John
__________________
John Goodman - 40572
First flight was 25 June, 2011
N711JG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2017, 01:56 PM
Auburntsts's Avatar
Auburntsts Auburntsts is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dumfries, VA
Posts: 2,309
Default

John, from when I was building my panel years ago, I believe the VP-200 components (CU, DP, and SP) all have to be connected for the system to power up with 12v applied to the power lug. In addition all of the grounds on the CU have to be grounded as well. Here's a list of the grounds:

J4 pin 6
J5 pin 7
J6 pin 8

Hope this helps.
__________________
Todd Stovall
PP ASEL-IA
RV-10 N728TT - Flying!
WAR EAGLE!

Last edited by Auburntsts : 01-15-2017 at 01:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2017, 02:03 PM
Lancair Super ES Lancair Super ES is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: York, PA
Posts: 73
Default Backup

Did you back up the system settings to the provided USB drive? Might be able to read, or recover, them from there.

My VP-200 is gone. Good riddance. Major panel upgrade in process. Back to switches and breakers.

Gordon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2017, 06:57 PM
SMO's Avatar
SMO SMO is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Salmon Arm, BC
Posts: 888
Default

I believe you also need to provide power to J4 Pin 1 - recommended with an inline 20 amp slow burn fuse.

With respect to the DU and SP, connect them with the provided cables if you have access to them.
__________________
Mark Olson
1987 RV-4 Sold
2003 Super Decathlon - Sold
F1 EVO Rocket, first flight May 31/14
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2017, 07:33 PM
vluvelin vluvelin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 180
Default Powerup

John i will email you bench connections in the morning
__________________

RV7 C-GZZY Flying

2016.October - Tooling up and shop prep
What to build 7,10,or 14 ?
2017 June RV7 Emp in works!

VAF SUPPORTED
2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2017, 08:02 AM
johngoodman's Avatar
johngoodman johngoodman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Peachtree City, Georgia
Posts: 436
Default

Thanks for all the replys - looking forward to vluvelin's e-mail. I suspected that I need the three grounds. I'll have to get the wires to ground. Also, I pretty much figured that the "keep alive" had to be powered, as well. Again, thanks!
John
__________________
John Goodman - 40572
First flight was 25 June, 2011
N711JG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2017, 12:04 PM
ccrawford ccrawford is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 292
Default

You can still download the load planning spreadsheet that includes the power and ground pins:

http://verticalpower.com/discontinued/

Might be useful to have, then you can use it to document what devices are on what pins too.

I believe the Ebus power is needed for it to turn itself on (and power up the battery relay).
__________________
// corey crawford
// rv-7a (sold)
// denver, co @ KBJC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2017, 05:39 PM
RViter RViter is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 170
Default vaguely remember

Quote:
Originally Posted by johngoodman View Post
I'm trying to figure out how to boot up my disconnected VP-200, without any devices on it. I need to see the device pages, so I can figure out which pins are assigned to what. No, I don't have the spreadsheet, and I never wrote anything down.
What would it take to power up the CU & DU by themselves? Would the SP need to be in the loop? 12V power on the lug. Do I need the "keep alive" wire? How about grounds?

John
I vaguely remember that you MUST have at least one load pin connected, at least that was true on my VP-100. Used one of the most probable pins, and a ground. Since some of the circuits default to 'always on' (?) that might be a factor, too. Those manuals for "discontinued" products are still available.
http://www.verticalpower.com/discontinued

May be a clue in the example load planning worksheet also.
__________________
gary
RV-6A QB Tip-Up, 1st Flight 3/18/17
O-360-J2A (modified & F/I), Sensenich FP (cruise)
VP-X Sport, Dynon SkyView, VFR day
(FFZ) Mesa, AZ - N234GB -
www.mykitlog.com/garyc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2017, 12:40 PM
Ivan Kristensen's Avatar
Ivan Kristensen Ivan Kristensen is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Guelph Ontario
Posts: 163
Default VP-200 shut down issue!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancair Super ES View Post

My VP-200 is gone. Good riddance. Major panel upgrade in process. Back to switches and breakers.

Gordon
Gordon,
After your incident a couple of years ago where the VP-200 shut down in IMC conditions did you ever figure out what caused it? At the time you indicated that you were going to add some additional ground wires and that it then worked fine for 30 hours or so. Did that work and what happen after that?

I have now experienced two VP-200 shut downs, both in IMC conditions. The first one was about a year ago at 900 hrs. and the second one was two weeks ago at about 1020 hrs. In both cases the VP-200 re-booted fine and worked perfectly in every way after that.

In both cases my flight conditions were similar to yours. IMC with OAT below freezing. I am beginning to think that this issue may be caused by Static Discharge. Did you explore this as a possibility or have any thoughts on the matter.

The thought of having to replace the VP-200 is not a pleasant one. Obviously if this problem persists I will have no choice but before I do that I will add additional ground wires to the 3 major components of this system and tie them to a common ground plus I will add static wick to the airplane. I would love for Marc Ausman to chime in here with his take on this issue.

The VP-200 is a fantastic system and except for the issues described above has worked flawlessly for 7.5 years and 1020hrs. Unfortunately it is no longer manufactured or supported by anyone (to my knowledge) so for the many of us who still use this great system we will have little choice but to look elsewhere.

Ivan.
__________________
RV-10 Quick Build
SN # 40838 (C-GMDV)
First flight June 28, 2010. Now 1000 hours of flight time.
Home field is Waterloo Regional Airport (CYKF) Ontario Canada,

2017 VAF dues paid.

Link to my build site:
https://ivankristensen.smugmug.com/B...ENTAL-aircraft
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2017, 06:23 AM
Lancair Super ES Lancair Super ES is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: York, PA
Posts: 73
Default Tried to e-mail you Ivan...see text below

Hi Ivan and Bill. Interestingly, I received e-mails from both of you yesterday!

I never did conclusively find the source of my VP200 shutdowns. I had 3 in total, all in IMC. The first one was the most exciting, the others weren't too bad because I knew what had happened and what to do. Still unnerving. It got to a point that I was afraid to fly the ES in IMC.

I bit the bullet and replaced the VP200 with old fashioned breakers and switches. While I was at it, I went to dual G3X's. Big project and I just got done. Hope to fly it this week if we get some half decent weather. Will be kinda like Phase 1 again.

The extra grounding wires did not make a difference. I, as a lay person, am convinced it is a static issue. BTW, the old VP equipment sold quickly. Those that are keeping the VP want a source of replacement parts. I sold mine to a Lancair guy that had a single CU like I did, and he was making his a dual CU system.

I had no interaction issues with the alternators... both on B&C regulators.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.