What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Why not an RV-14?

KC10Chief

I apologize if this sort of thing has been asked before but I'm just looking for some clarification. I've been lurking here forever! I have been flying for almost 21 years now and have always wanted to build my own airplane. I finally came to the realization that there's probably never a good time to build a plane. You just have to do it. I recently ordered the plans for the RV-7 and am currently reorganizing my garage and acquiring the tools I need. I'll probably order an empennage kit after the new year. I was also looking at the RV-14. There's a lot fewer 14s flying than 7s. Also, a lot less motor options out there for the 14. It seems that there are IO-360s under every rock in comparison! I don't think I can burn mogas in the 390 either, right? It looks like the 7 is a little more agile and slightly faster. Personally, I want a great cross country plane that can do the occasional loop or roll.

I'm 6'1" tall and about 215 pounds. My wife is also 6'1" tall and quite a bit thinner. HA! She doesn't like flying as much as I do and I'd probably be solo most of the time. I'm retired from the Air Force where I started out as an aircraft mechanic for the first nine years and then I was a flight engineer for the last 11. I work for Boeing now. Airplanes are no stranger to me and I have thousands of flight hours. I definitely miss all of the flying though and need my own plane! I'm pretty set on the 7 and I realize I'm posting in the RV-7 forum. I just need some enablers to give me that final push over the edge into the 7 instead of the 14!

The 7 and the 14 are quite similar, but also not.