What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Air Force with an A&P

RPorter

First off, nice to be back on the site after quite the hiatus, lets just say its been an interesting year! Just a disclaimer, this is not a RV related question, but I have always found comfort in confiding in my family of aviators just as much as anybody. I am currently in my first year of an Associates Degree in Aviation Maintenance, where I will also obtain an A&P license. Needless to say, I am absolutely LOVING every minute of it! I feel truly blessed to enjoy what I have been learning.....

As of late the option of the Air Force has been coming to mind. It is not something I have ever really run through the mill before until now, and am now curious as to what kind of opportunities already having an A&P before entering would present me. Whether that be higher ranking, more options, less training, or just the benefit of plain old experience, I do not know! I certainly do not want to talk to a recruiter at this time, I feel confident in asking you all. I appreciate any help I can get!

Not a veteran myself, but I know and work with lots of USAF maintainers. My guess is that you'd pretty much come in like everyone else unless you had some pretty extensive experience or certifications. USAF maintenance is pretty specialized, so you generally only work on one or two systems (hydraulics, engines, structures or avionics) as opposed to touching everything like you might do with GA aircraft.

If I was going to be an enlisted maintainer, I'd do it in the Navy; USAF maintainers can get sent to some really really terrible places.... Most naval bases are in places better than Clovis, NM...

AP