VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #191  
Old 08-01-2019, 02:40 PM
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 521
Default

The 175/375 have 5 available RS-232 ports (pairs of in/outs). Those should talk directly to the G5 RS-232 channel. In fact the G5 installation manual shows these interconnects. Abeit the G5 has only one RS-232 in channel and one RS-232 out channel.

Jim
__________________
RV-8
RV-3B
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 08-01-2019, 02:59 PM
rocketbob's Avatar
rocketbob rocketbob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 8I3
Posts: 3,348
Default

Ok thanks. The diagrams in this thread show the GAD 29 interfacing the two but I'm not 100% convinced they will communicate over serial.

So would an SL30 transmitting proprietary NMEA sentences connect to the 175 and pass thru VOR/GS? I have connected a Val Nav 2000 (which is SL30 protocol-compatible) to a G5 HSI via RS-232 which showed the VOR/GS information both G5's via canbus. Worked great.
__________________
Bob Japundza CFI A&PIA
N55BC RV-6 borrowed, flying
N678X F1 Rocket, under const.
N244BJ RV-6 "victim of SNF tornado" 1200+ hrs, rebuilding
N8155F C150 flying
N7925P PA-24-250 Comanche, restoring
Not a thing I own is stock.

Last edited by rocketbob : 08-01-2019 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 08-01-2019, 06:21 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,510
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketbob View Post
Ok thanks. The diagrams in this thread show the GAD 29 interfacing the two but I'm not 100% convinced they will communicate over serial.

So would an SL30 transmitting proprietary NMEA sentences connect to the 175 and pass thru VOR/GS? I have connected a Val Nav 2000 (which is SL30 protocol-compatible) to a G5 HSI via RS-232 which showed the VOR/GS information both G5's via canbus. Worked great.
Hello Bob,

While you cannot connect an SL30 to the GPS 175 and turn it into a dual function (GPS/NAV) navigator, you can connect both a SL 30 and a GPS 175 to a G5 system with GAD 29.

In this example the SL 30 RS-232 is connected to both G5 units (in a dual G5 installation) and the GPS 175 is connected to just the GAD 29 using ARINC 429.

The G5 supports dual navigators and allows you to switch between the GPS and VOR/ILS navigators.

Probably best to email us directly if you would like more details. We just answered this question for another customer. We have a GPS navigator with GNC 255 example in the G5 installation manual, but don't yet have a dual navigator example with a SL 30 and a GPS navigator, but plan to add one.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 08-01-2019, 06:29 PM
rocketbob's Avatar
rocketbob rocketbob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 8I3
Posts: 3,348
Default

Thanks Steve. I've connected dual G5's previously as you describe.

We have a GAD29B for this install so everything should work fine.

I am curious though if one could connect the G5's via the 175's multiple serial ports.

I'm also curious why Garmin didn't include canbus in the 175 as that would have simplified the wiring.
__________________
Bob Japundza CFI A&PIA
N55BC RV-6 borrowed, flying
N678X F1 Rocket, under const.
N244BJ RV-6 "victim of SNF tornado" 1200+ hrs, rebuilding
N8155F C150 flying
N7925P PA-24-250 Comanche, restoring
Not a thing I own is stock.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 08-01-2019, 06:59 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,510
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketbob View Post
Thanks Steve. I've connected dual G5's previously as you describe.

We have a GAD29B for this install so everything should work fine.

I am curious though if one could connect the G5's via the 175's multiple serial ports.
Hello Bob,

Not totally sure I understand the question, but no, you cannot just connect the GPS 175 to the G5 system using RS-232 ports. You would have no vertical guidance or roll steering without the ARINC 429 data.
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 08-06-2019, 11:41 AM
agirard7a's Avatar
agirard7a agirard7a is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 668
Talking Aera 660- gps175

Hi. I currently have an area660 (love it) feeding flight plan data to my GRT Sport
EFiS. The GRT auto pilot flies the route including vertical commands.

I would like to purchase the GPS175. Will the 175 also work the same way as the aera 660 regarding loading flight plans via a serial connection? In addition, I want to keep the aera660. Will the 175 load this data also into the Aera660?
Is there two serial ports on the 175 or do I need to share one serial port to both units?

I will install an ARINC module to feed LOC, Glide slope info from the 175 to my GRT EFiS.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
Al Girard, Newport, RI
N339AG
RV-9
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 08-06-2019, 03:06 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,510
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by agirard7a View Post
Hi. I currently have an area660 (love it) feeding flight plan data to my GRT Sport
EFiS. The GRT auto pilot flies the route including vertical commands.

I would like to purchase the GPS175. Will the 175 also work the same way as the aera 660 regarding loading flight plans via a serial connection? In addition, I want to keep the aera660. Will the 175 load this data also into the Aera660?
Is there two serial ports on the 175 or do I need to share one serial port to both units?

I will install an ARINC module to feed LOC, Glide slope info from the 175 to my GRT EFiS.

Thanks for your help.
Hello Al,

Yes, the Aera 660 interfaces nicely with the GPS 175, GNC 355, and GNX 375. It is the only portable display in the world which can interface with these units and display all the curved path guidance including procedure turns and holding patterns.

You can use one of the RS-232 ports on the Aera 660 to receive this data, and the second RS-232 port to receive ADS-B traffic and weather data. If you install a GNX 375, all of this data can come from the GNX 375.

The GPS 175, GNC 355, and GNX 375 have multiple RS-232 ports, so you should be able to provide RS-232 data to both your Aera 660 and your GRT unit if needed. The GPS 175 doesn't have NMEA output, but it has an Aviation output that might work with your GRT unit.

Let us know if you have additional questions.

Thanks,
Steve





__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 08-12-2019, 10:31 PM
sf260 sf260 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 26
Default

If one has a SL-30 interfaced to a G5 via the G5's single serial port AND one has a GTNXXX interfaced to the same G5 via a GAD29 (and via ARINC/CANBUS) - can you easily switch which nav source shows up on the G5 in this scenario? My understanding was that only dual ARINC interfaced navigators are "easily" switchable - not a serially interfaced SL-30 together with a ARINC interfaced GTNXXX. If you CAN do this - Operationally, how does one switch nav inputs on the G5?
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 08-13-2019, 05:28 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,510
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sf260 View Post
If one has a SL-30 interfaced to a G5 via the G5's single serial port AND one has a GTNXXX interfaced to the same G5 via a GAD29 (and via ARINC/CANBUS) - can you easily switch which nav source shows up on the G5 in this scenario? My understanding was that only dual ARINC interfaced navigators are "easily" switchable - not a serially interfaced SL-30 together with a ARINC interfaced GTNXXX. If you CAN do this - Operationally, how does one switch nav inputs on the G5?
Hello SF260,

Page 31 of the Rev. G G5 Pilot's Guide explains how to change navigation sources on the G5. It is quite simple.



In the case of an SL 30 (navigator 1) and a GTN 650 (navigator 2), the choices would be VLOC1 and GPS2/VLOC2. You would use the CDI source select on the GTN 650 to switch between GPS2 and VLOC2. In other words, depending on what was selected on the GTN 650, the choices available on the G5 navigation source select button shown above would be VLOC1/GPS2 or VLOC1/VLOC2. These G5 choices would change each time you changed the CDI source select on the GTN 650.

For a GTN 650 with GNC 255 with the GNC 255 connected to the GAD 29 instead of RS-232, the choices would be GPS1/VLOC1 and VLOC2.

For a GNX 375 (or GPS 175 or GNC 355) with a GNC 255, the choices would always be GPS1 and VLOC2 since there is no external CDI source select on either navigator.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 08-13-2019 at 05:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 08-13-2019, 12:20 PM
KAdriver's Avatar
KAdriver KAdriver is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 29
Default

Steve I am going with a single G5 and a GNX375 driving a trutrak AP. Only GPS source no nav radios or ILS. Will the G5 display course and Glide path (pink diamonds) by RS232 or will I have to add arinc box?
Thanks
__________________
Jason
RV6
KASD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.