Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 12-24-2013, 05:34 PM

Default Newbie RV-8

Hello Team Vans;

I am just writing to say Hello as I am new to the Van’s Community and have recently purchased a Van’s QB RV8 kit from an owner whose life circumstances had changed in Florida.

I have had the kit transported up to a friend in Canada (Calgary) who is a Technical Engineer in the Experimental Aircraft Industry.

That might seem a bit odd for someone from Australia who wants to build their own aircraft, however at present it works for me. You see I am a long-haul Pilot from “down-under” and we have the ability to do Extended Layover Patterns (using our annual leave between operational sectors) into KDFW. That allows me a week of leave, a week of uninterrupted building with friends who can guide me if (when!) I get stuck, however well away from family distractions and home interruptions.

Don’t worry (the Boss) my lovely wife Leigh has visited the RV8’s new home (Leigh is also a recreational Pilot) and apart from the -26° (Celsius) temperature gave the “thumbs-up” approval to the building plan. Anyway we will see how it flows over the next few months.

Now I also hold an FAA Commercial in addition to my Australian ATPL so I am deciding whether to build with USA registration or Canadian. I can Hangar the RV8 at Addison airfield in Texas not too far from our crew hotel and a good friend in Dallas who is also a CFI will look after her there and bring my light-aircraft tail wheel skills back to life again – at least that’s the plan!