VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 06-29-2018, 06:07 PM
pilotmansam pilotmansam is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newberry, SC
Posts: 45
Default Flightbox Stradux to GRT Question

Here's a question for anyone who has encountered this: I installed a GRT Sport EFIS along with a Flightbox Stradux ADSB receiver. Wired it all up per the instructions with a USB to serial out cable provided by Flightbox. All was great. Worked fine.
Now, Flightbox has published a new version of the firmware (V 1.4r4). Installed this version and, zip zap all was great, except the GRT now cannot receive the Stradux serial data. The Stradux seems to still be working fine since the wifi output displays all correct data. Flightbox seems to have changed something with the serial output stream. ??? I've tried changing the baud rate in the GRT but nothing seems to be working. I guess I'll have to figure out how to go back to the old version of the Stradux firmware.
__________________
Sam Hart
Newberry, SC
RV-6A N7228Z
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2018, 06:11 PM
Bevan Bevan is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BC
Posts: 1,547
Default

Did you contact OpenFlightSolutions and what did they say?

Bevan
__________________
RV7A Flying
O-360-A1F6 (parallel valve) 180HP
Dual P-mags
Precision F.I. with AP purge valve
Vinyl Wrapped Exterior
Grand Rapids EFIS
Located in western Canada

Last edited by Bevan : 06-29-2018 at 06:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2018, 06:23 PM
pilotmansam pilotmansam is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newberry, SC
Posts: 45
Default

Open Flight Solutions is in the process of moving their office and are very busy. I am sure they will give me a reply when they can. I just thought I would post it here in hopes of a quick solution.
__________________
Sam Hart
Newberry, SC
RV-6A N7228Z
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2018, 09:37 AM
Tankerpilot75 Tankerpilot75 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 295
Default

You may have to restore your old FlightBox software. When I did the same conversion you did I had Steve Sokol send me a new data card with the beta software for the transmission of the serial data to my GRT Horizon WS. The upgraded version you installed may not have the beta serial data in it.
__________________
Jim Harris, RV7A, 2nd owner, N523RM
IO-360, Hartzel CS prop, Older Aerotronics built panel Dual GRT Horizon WS, Garmin 340, 335, Dual 430s, Stratux hard wired to WS, Dynon D10A (backup EFIS)
Retired - Living the dream - And going broke!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2018, 11:53 AM
pilotmansam pilotmansam is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newberry, SC
Posts: 45
Default

OK. My bad. Seems as if I just didn't go high enough with the baud rate. Kept setting it higher and higher and finally it locked in. All seems well now!
__________________
Sam Hart
Newberry, SC
RV-6A N7228Z
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2018, 03:31 AM
carlrai's Avatar
carlrai carlrai is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 442
Default Similar problems

What baud rate did you end up setting on the serial port?

Been trying to get my Stratux to talk to GRT for a couple of weekends. Used the RPi3 download from GRT site with all settings as suggested by Jeff from GRT.

Appreciate your comments.
__________________
Carl Raichle
Lutz, FL
RV-9A N194CR
Based at KZPH
AA4SR
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2018, 07:55 AM
pilotmansam pilotmansam is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newberry, SC
Posts: 45
Default

It finally locked in at 38400 which was much highter than I thought would work.
__________________
Sam Hart
Newberry, SC
RV-6A N7228Z
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2018, 10:08 AM
Canadian_JOY Canadian_JOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Default

If I'm not mistaken, GRT has previously recommended that ADSB-IN requires a high-speed serial port at 115,200 baud. Maybe that's just my memory playing tricks on me but I know that's what my HX is configured for to talk to my ADSB-In receiver.

There's a whole lot of data moving on that interface, so high speed seems to make sense.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-11-2018, 05:12 PM
Tankerpilot75 Tankerpilot75 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian_JOY View Post
If I'm not mistaken, GRT has previously recommended that ADSB-IN requires a high-speed serial port at 115,200 baud. Maybe that's just my memory playing tricks on me but I know that's what my HX is configured for to talk to my ADSB-In receiver.

There's a whole lot of data moving on that interface, so high speed seems to make sense.
If you’ll check the GRT Support web page under Miscellaneous Support, Equipment Suppliment, “Stratux ADS-B Raspberry Pi” document you will see under section 2.1 it says to set the baud rate at 38,400 and indicates a higher baud rate may be utilized in the future.

Sorry I didn’t see this on my earlier post.
__________________
Jim Harris, RV7A, 2nd owner, N523RM
IO-360, Hartzel CS prop, Older Aerotronics built panel Dual GRT Horizon WS, Garmin 340, 335, Dual 430s, Stratux hard wired to WS, Dynon D10A (backup EFIS)
Retired - Living the dream - And going broke!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.