VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #51  
Old 05-11-2018, 03:07 PM
mturnerb mturnerb is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ponte Vedra, FL
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MED View Post
That looks GREAT!

Would love to hear about your experience installing the throttle quadrant.
__________________
Turner Billingsley
RV-14A In Progress
N14VB Reserved
https://turnerb14a.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 05-11-2018, 03:17 PM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 259
Default

Thanks. The throttle quadrant goes in easily, like it was designed to fit. Just had to install a couple of nut plates to secure it. I have a Thunderbolt engine with an FM-150, so had to install the supplemental cable plate and hoses. Now, I have to figure out the proper throttle and mixture cable lengths for a quadrant, since the cable plate and fittings were designed for the standard vernier cable lengths.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD reserved

Last edited by MED : 05-11-2018 at 03:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 05-11-2018, 05:19 PM
mturnerb mturnerb is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ponte Vedra, FL
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MED View Post
Thanks. The throttle quadrant goes in easily, like it was designed to fit. Just had to install a couple of nut plates to secure it. I have a Thunderbolt engine with an FM-150, so had to install the supplemental cable plate and hoses. Now, I have to figure out the proper throttle and mixture cable lengths for a quadrant, since the cable plate and fittings were designed for the standard vernier cable lengths.
Where did you get the quadrant?
__________________
Turner Billingsley
RV-14A In Progress
N14VB Reserved
https://turnerb14a.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 05-11-2018, 05:40 PM
woodmanrog's Avatar
woodmanrog woodmanrog is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 736
Default N199MJ final design

Here is our final design. There are 2 additional USB ports located under the bottom edge at the midpoint of the screens. These are for the data input and output of the Dynon Touch system. Turned out to be a great location as they are out of the way and don't take additional panel space. We also have Steins replacement circuit breaker panel instead of the standard auto fuses.


Last edited by woodmanrog : 05-11-2018 at 05:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 05-11-2018, 05:43 PM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 259
Default

The throttle quadrant is the one Vanís sells for the RV-10. You can sometimes find a builder with a new one for sale a little cheaper if they changed their installation plans.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD reserved
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 05-14-2018, 07:46 AM
azflyer21 azflyer21 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 69
Default D120 EMS from Dynon

I will be installing the HDX screens in my 14A, one item i would like to include is the separate EMS D120. I like the dedicated engine screen, that way I can use the entire PFD, MFD screens and will not have to toggle the screen to see other engine data. Any experience with the D120?
__________________
Kevin Lippert
Zenith 750 completed 2016 -
Sold

N902X reserved
RV-14a Empennage Done
QB Wing QB Fuse inprogress
Build Log
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 05-14-2018, 07:57 AM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 9,363
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by azflyer21 View Post
I will be installing the HDX screens in my 14A, one item i would like to include is the separate EMS D120. I like the dedicated engine screen, that way I can use the entire PFD, MFD screens and will not have to toggle the screen to see other engine data. Any experience with the D120?
Rather than adding an older Dynon D120 screen with a different interface and limited (if any) interconnection to the HDX units, why not simply add an extra 7 inch HDX screen and dedicate it to engine monitoring only?

Size is similar and that extra 1 AMU gives you a more up to date technology.
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05-15-2018, 07:32 PM
azflyer21 azflyer21 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by az_gila View Post
Rather than adding an older Dynon D120 screen with a different interface and limited (if any) interconnection to the HDX units, why not simply add an extra 7 inch HDX screen and dedicate it to engine monitoring only?

Size is similar and that extra 1 AMU gives you a more up to date technology.
Thanks Gil, that makes sense. I was just try to save a few $$ since I really wanted a dedicated EMS and didn't need the full EFIS.
__________________
Kevin Lippert
Zenith 750 completed 2016 -
Sold

N902X reserved
RV-14a Empennage Done
QB Wing QB Fuse inprogress
Build Log
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:00 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.