VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 11-17-2018, 04:30 PM
AirHound AirHound is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: OFallon IL now, everywhere before
Posts: 299
Default Heater cable broke

Ok fellas go easy on me. Inner wire broke vicinity friction bends. I didnít build it so does the assembly come complete or do I just order just the wire and try to rethread it through all those bends. Iím guessing order inner and outer complete.
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2018, 03:47 AM
crashley crashley is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: hazelwood north vic
Posts: 170
Default heater cable

Order a new cable and you then you have a choice of either just replace the centre and if that doesnt thread in easily you can run the new complete cable in
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2018, 10:46 AM
RFSchaller RFSchaller is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,460
Default

When I installed mine I found that I didnít need the little plate that ďkinksĒ the cable housing for friction to hold the heater door. Removing it will probably make threading the replace,ent cable a lot easier.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2018, 07:39 PM
AirHound AirHound is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: OFallon IL now, everywhere before
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RFSchaller View Post
When I installed mine I found that I didn’t need the little plate that “kinks” the cable housing for friction to hold the heater door. Removing it will probably make threading the replace,ent cable a lot easier.
Thanks Rich, will give it a go again. Last winter here in your old stomping grounds the heat was needed and the door wouldn’t stay open so I had to install/adjust that plate. The intake air pressure is pretty strong to stay open without some friction/more like binding/ force at play. Maybe The newness will work without it though, no big deal.
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2019, 05:44 AM
gblwy's Avatar
gblwy gblwy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Perth, Scotland
Posts: 494
Default Snap, in more ways than one

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirHound View Post
Ok fellas go easy on me. Inner wire broke vicinity friction bends. I didnít build it so does the assembly come complete or do I just order just the wire and try to rethread it through all those bends. Iím guessing order inner and outer complete.
Mine has just broken too. How much did the replacement cost? Did you manage to just replace the inner piano wire?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2019, 07:17 AM
Scott Hersha Scott Hersha is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,057
Default

Bowden cable wire only (.65/ft):

https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catal...clickkey=13351

Bowden cable housing and other parts:

https://www.aircraftspruce.com/searc...bowden%20cable

Complete ratcheting cable assembly 41 - 50$: (depends on length)

https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catal...?clickkey=5322
__________________
SH
RV6/2001 built/sold 2005
RV8 Fastback/2008 built/sold 2015
RV4/bought 2016/sold/2017
RV8/2018 built/Flying
Cincinnati, OH/KHAO
JAN2019
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2019, 07:51 AM
JBPILOT JBPILOT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jesup, Iowa
Posts: 1,630
Default This is a lockable control cable

https://www.oreillyauto.com/detail/b...l+cable&pos=20

I have used one of these for years. Excellent. Locks firmly with a slight twist of the T handle.
__________________
John Bender
Flying RV-12 - Serial #120036
Paid in May ( 5-2019 )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2019, 11:50 AM
AirHound AirHound is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: OFallon IL now, everywhere before
Posts: 299
Default Broken Heater Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by gblwy View Post
Mine has just broken too. How much did the replacement cost? Did you manage to just replace the inner piano wire?
If retaining the knob placard "PULL/ON" concerns you, then order whole new cable from VANs and just use/insert/feed new inner wire thru old cable, and unscrew old knob with placard to put on end of new wire where you will have to unscrew the new knob...Otherwise, leave new wire and new knob alone, just insert it into old cable, and also buy the VANs RV-12 sheet of placards and placard the new knob with "PULL/ON", again if placarding is a factor for you....
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2019, 12:14 PM
DaleB's Avatar
DaleB DaleB is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Omaha, NE (KMLE)
Posts: 2,035
Default

If you need a placard for a new, un-marked cable...

https://www.aircraftspruce.com/categ..._zinserts.html
__________________
Dale

Omaha, NE
RV-12 # 222 N980KM "Screamin' Canary" (bought flying)
Fisher Celebrity (under construction)
Previous RV-7 project (sold)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.