VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 01-14-2019, 12:53 PM
Hotscam Hotscam is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosschenhoofd, Netherlands
Posts: 147
Default D180 and Kavlico fuel pressure sensor

A buddy asked me to replace his fuel pressure sensor by a Kavlico.
I have upgraded the D180;firmware to 5.6.1 which is supposed to have 6 sensor choices for fuel pressure connected to pin 8.
However I only get a choice of 3 and no Kavlico. The Kavlico works fine but it reads funny on the sreen as it has no resistance output like the old sensor.
When I check the version it now reads 5.6.1 which was 5.4 when I started, so the upgrade was succesful.
As fas as I know the integrated EMS is automaticcally updated with the EFIS.

What am I missing ?
__________________
Jack Netherlands

PH-SEP and PH-SES

RV12 #120519 and #120790
Hobbs 700+ hours and 400+ hours
Dual SV1000 Skyview 15, Pocket FMS and Powerflarm 6.0 (ADSB)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2019, 01:47 PM
rv7charlie rv7charlie is online now
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pocahontas MS
Posts: 3,444
Default

Don't know about the D180, but some of the AFS engine modules require an electrical mod to convert from resistive to the Kavlico. In the AFS units the 'input' has a pullup resistor that puts a voltage on the input pin. The resistive sensor then pulls that voltage down, depending on pressure. With the Kavlico, one wire is the supply wire, another is ground, and the 3rd outputs a varying voltage due to pressure sensed. So for the AFS, the pullup resistor's voltage feed must be removed from the input pin if using the Kavlico.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2019, 01:50 PM
Veetail88's Avatar
Veetail88 Veetail88 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hales Corners, WI
Posts: 886
Default

RV7 Charlie is correct.
__________________
Jesse Bentley
N229Z - RV-8 - Flying - Livin' the dream!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2019, 03:14 PM
Hotscam Hotscam is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosschenhoofd, Netherlands
Posts: 147
Default

I have printed a Dynon application note for the Kavlico application to the D180.
It receives external 5 Volt and there is no mention of other modifications besides new firmware.
For some reason the input channel does not allow the choice for Kavlico as the note says it should.
The Efis and EMS are in the same box and it appears that just the efis is updated.
The app note says both dowloads should happen automaticcaly.
I also mailed Dynon but no respons sofar.
__________________
Jack Netherlands

PH-SEP and PH-SES

RV12 #120519 and #120790
Hobbs 700+ hours and 400+ hours
Dual SV1000 Skyview 15, Pocket FMS and Powerflarm 6.0 (ADSB)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2019, 04:52 PM
Mich48041 Mich48041 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riley TWP MI
Posts: 2,763
Default

Have you tried:
EMS > SETUP > SENSORS > FUEL PRESSURE > SENSOR TYPE: 6 ?
__________________
Joe Gores
RV-12 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-14-2019, 10:12 PM
Hotscam Hotscam is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosschenhoofd, Netherlands
Posts: 147
Default

Thats exactly the issue.
I donít get the choice for 6.
Just 1,2 or 3
V 5.6.1 should have this choice 6 but it doesínt
__________________
Jack Netherlands

PH-SEP and PH-SES

RV12 #120519 and #120790
Hobbs 700+ hours and 400+ hours
Dual SV1000 Skyview 15, Pocket FMS and Powerflarm 6.0 (ADSB)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2019, 06:45 PM
Don Jones's Avatar
Don Jones Don Jones is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Snohomish, Washington
Posts: 666
Default

Jack,
Could you possibly give me a call so we can discuss. I know with the time shift it is difficult, but I feel it would more productive.
425-402-0433 after 5 pm or so your time would work. I will be out of the office tomorrow 1-15 but will be back in on the 16th.
If you could e-mail support@dynonavionics.com with your number, I will be happy to call on my dime.
__________________
Don Jones
Technical Support Manager
Dynon Avionics
CFI-IA, AGI, IGI
RV9-A

Last edited by Don Jones : 01-15-2019 at 06:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2019, 07:42 PM
Hartstoc's Avatar
Hartstoc Hartstoc is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sebastopol,CA
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotscam View Post
Thats exactly the issue.
I donít get the choice for 6.
Just 1,2 or 3
V 5.6.1 should have this choice 6 but it doesínt
Iíd try reloading the firmware- my D-120 offered all six choices after Iupdated and I also switched successfully to the kavlico sensor.
__________________
Otis Holt-
RV-7A (bought)
Built Monnett Moni
Frmr Test Pilot/Author CAFE APR's:
RV-8A, S-7C, Europa, Glastar.
-2019 VAF donation!!-
"RV-Fun is inversely proportional to RV-Weight!"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2019, 03:00 AM
Hotscam Hotscam is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosschenhoofd, Netherlands
Posts: 147
Default

Don, Hartstoc

Problem solved.
I reloaded the support program from the Dynon site and reloaded the firmware into the D180.
To my surprise choice 6 was now available and after selection it worked.

Thanks very much for your help.

VAF is great

Regards
__________________
Jack Netherlands

PH-SEP and PH-SES

RV12 #120519 and #120790
Hobbs 700+ hours and 400+ hours
Dual SV1000 Skyview 15, Pocket FMS and Powerflarm 6.0 (ADSB)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:14 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.