What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

O-360 GPH?

s10sakota

Well Known Member
Question for you 180 hp drivers. What kind of gph do you get with the O-360?

CLimb and cruise I'm looking for. Thanks!

I guess it depends on how you fly it, but I usually climb at 12gph and cruise at 8gph.

Ditto...or close to those numbers. There can/will be some variation, but that is pretty normal for this engine. Of course if it's injected with E.I., and you like LOP, then you can sneak out a bit more as well.

Cheers,
Stein

75% power cruise properly leaned with carbureted O-360 stock compression standard mags burns 10 GPH, you can almost st your watch by it. With electronic ignition you will burn around a gallon an hour less at the same power settings. I have seen it written many times that with fuel injection you will burn a gallon an hour less, but I have no experience flying an injected -360. Injection and electronic ignition sounds like an awesome set-up and the -7 I am helping build has an EFII injected -360 with dual ECUs. Hoping to see 8 GPH or a little more at high power cruise.

Slight correction here

At 75% power and at the optimum BSFC an O360 will burn about 9.0 - 9.1 USGPH.
At 65% power and at the optimum BSFC an O360 will burn about 7.8 - 7.9 USGPH.

At takeoff full rated power, (sea level ISA) they should use about 17.5 GPH. This reduces in the climb as mass airflow reduces.

Hope that is helpful.

At 75% power and at the optimum BSFC an O360 will burn about 9.0 - 9.1 USGPH.
At 65% power and at the optimum BSFC an O360 will burn about 7.8 - 7.9 USGPH.

At takeoff full rated power, (sea level ISA) they should use about 17.5 GPH. This reduces in the climb as mass airflow reduces.

Hope that is helpful.

Pretty close to my experience. For reference, 75% LOP (9.5-10 gph) gives me about 175kts + in my RV-6. 65% is 160kts and 8.2 gph LOP.