What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Countersink HS/VS skins?

madsabre

I'm New Here
My first post. Hope to order the tail kit once I get back to the States.

I built a -4 tail kit back in '95 and a "pretty" building option was to countersink the HS/VS skins. Of course, this had to be done with much care. Does Van's support this and/or has anyone done this lately?

HS/VS skins

The standard method is to dimple the skins. Countersinking .032 skins is marginal, it can be done but dimpling is recommended. Dimpling is also much less stressful and quicker than countersinking. The finish is excellent in either case.

Another thing to consider is that some additional strength is provided by the nesting of the dimples over a countersunk skin sitting flush on the rib.
I'm no engineer so I don't know how much difference this would make...

Thomas

madsabre said:
My first post. Hope to order the tail kit once I get back to the States.

I built a -4 tail kit back in '95 and a "pretty" building option was to countersink the HS/VS skins. Of course, this had to be done with much care. Does Van's support this and/or has anyone done this lately?

Mike,
I know of one local RV6 builder who did this. His HS and VS rivets do not lay down flush as nicely as other builders who dimpled the skins. Dimpling requires less time and skill to do, as well.
Another local RV6 owner (he didn't build his) has had constant problems with "smoking" (loose) rivets on both his wing rear spars. These areas were C/S rather than dimpled. I'd forget about countersinking those skins. I try to dimple everything I can. Skins and spars up to .040" thick can be dimpled.
Charlie Kuss

Some numbers

TShort said:
Another thing to consider is that some additional strength is provided by the nesting of the dimples over a countersunk skin sitting flush on the rib.
I'm no engineer so I don't know how much difference this would make...