VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 05-28-2018, 06:19 AM
Kupde Kupde is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Tampa,Fl
Posts: 20
Default First flight! and a question

First Flight

Saturday before the big Florida storm hit I was able to do a first flight. Everything went well with no big surprises. One question: my pitch trim works fine on the ground but in flight I found that at cruise that it wouldnít move past neutral to allow me to trim it out completely. For some reason it showed power going to the trim as I pushed the switch but it wouldnít move past neutral. Tried it again on the ground and it worked fine. I have a VPX system and Iíve input the positions with plenty of space on each end of travel so not sure hat it is? Any suggestions welcome.

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2018, 08:22 AM
TS Flightlines TS Flightlines is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 2,049
Default

Congrats Kevin!!!!!!

Tom
__________________
Tom Swearengen, TS Flightlines LLC
Teflon Hose Assemblies for Experimentals
Proud Vendor for RV1, Donator to VAF
RV7 Tail Kit Completed, Fuse started-Pay as I go Plan
Ridgeland, SC
www.tsflightlines.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2018, 09:00 AM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 14,136
Default Congratulations

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kupde View Post
First Flight

Saturday before the big Florida storm hit I was able to do a first flight.
Kevin
Kevin, big congrats on the new fledgling
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2018, 09:06 AM
Lenny Iszak's Avatar
Lenny Iszak Lenny Iszak is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Palm City, FL
Posts: 256
Default

Congrats on your first flight!

The VPX might be slowing down your trim motor too much when your airspeed gets higher. I don't have a VPX, but I built a similar speed sensitive trim controller, and when you get it too slow it doesn't have enough power to overcome flight loads on the trim tabs and the trim motor will stall. Speed it back up a bit and it should be fine.
__________________
Lenny Iszak
Palm City, FL
2014 RV-10, N311LZ - 400 hrs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2018, 10:20 AM
rongawer's Avatar
rongawer rongawer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 304
Default

It might be that the stops are configured in the VP-X different than the PFD (Iím assuming you have an EFIS).

The VPX software has a trim configuration tool. I recommend connecting a laptop to the VP-X and cycling the trim to see what the VP-X thinks is going on. Itís likely just a setting. If youíre using a G3X, there are additional settings for trim in the configuration tool there as well. I imagine Dynon and other APís have the same.
__________________
Ron Gawer

- RV12, N975G, Phase 1 testing
- BE58, N1975G, stimulating the economy one flight at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2018, 11:17 AM
RV3bpilot's Avatar
RV3bpilot RV3bpilot is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Ulm, Minnesota
Posts: 265
Default

Very nice, first flight, Cooooool....
Sorry I don't know anything about electric trim...
__________________
Robin Mckee
New Ulm, MN 56073
RV3b N219BB
304 hours and counting
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2018, 02:50 PM
Kupde Kupde is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Tampa,Fl
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for inputs. I think itís like Lenny said the speed power reduction at higher speeds, so Iíll set to a higher limit and see what happens...

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2018, 07:42 PM
pilotkms pilotkms is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: WARNER ROBINS, GA
Posts: 187
Default Dynon?

If u have Dynon Skyview with VPX u need to go thru the calibration procedure. Both need to know which one is in charge. Had same issue with my FLAPS. Made for exciting first flight.
__________________
Keith
RV 7A. RV #9700
Built in SoCal KCCB
N325KS
Phase 1 Completed Nov 2017
120 Hours in Year 1 & 3x cross the USA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2018, 08:02 AM
Bill.Peyton's Avatar
Bill.Peyton Bill.Peyton is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,622
Default

If u have a G3X gea24 you need to disable the speed sensitivity in the VPX as shown in the vpx manual
__________________
Bill Peyton
RV-10 - 780 Hrs
First Flight Oct 2012
WA0SYV
Aviation Partners, LLC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:55 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.