What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How much flight time is required for RV solo?

tkatc

Well Known Member
i think my question is 2 parts....I am a low time pilot and want to own an RV one day. What is a good rule of thumb, (hours as PIC) before moving into a "High Performance" RV?

How many hours of transition training is typically required?

My experience

I only had 300 and some hours, almost all of that was more than 10 years old on 172s and 150s when I bought my RV-4. I took a dozen hours of RV training in a -7 with Mike Seagar and went flying in my -4. This has worked reasonably well, I have certainly had a few landings I don't care to repeat and a few go-arounds but overall I have felt safe.

call Jan Bussel or Pierre and pick their brains.

i think my question is 2 parts....I am a low time pilot and want to own an RV one day. What is a good rule of thumb, (hours as PIC) before moving into a "High Performance" RV?

How many hours of transition training is typically required?

I suggest you call one of the well known RV transition pilots and pick their brains. Jan Bussel who was my RV transition instructor for example could give you his opinion and I think you should just go and try and get checked out and ask for his feedback and honest opinion on your 'RV readiness' prior toy buying and solo flying a plane. Probably all those guys would be happy to evaluate you before you buy an RV. You just need to ask them to be brutally honest :) You may be ready in a few days of concentrated flying.

http://www.rv6flyjan.com/html/bio.asp

Well, I just bought an RV-4 and am low time...