What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tire brand and source recommendations

glfrdug

Well Known Member
Currently doing my annual and looks like I need to replace my main tires on the 8. Wondering if anyone suggests a certain brand over the stock tire at Van's and a good source for pricing other than the big stores?
Thanks in advance
Doug

Hi Doug,

I have always had good luck and service with retreads from Desser - good prices, excellent tire wear. I've been using them on my planes for over 20 years - never had a bad one.

Paul

Doug,

I've used Goodyear Flight Custom III tires, with no-leak tubes, on at least five different airplanes over the years. They're painfully expensive, but boy do they last. They're in a category beyond mere mortal tires, IMHO.

As Paul said, you can't go wrong with Desser retreads. Desser really seems to do things right, and lots of my flying buddies swear by them.

Hi Doug,

I have always had good luck and service with retreads from Desser - good prices, excellent tire wear. I've been using them on my planes for over 20 years - never had a bad one.

Paul

Yes but the question is......did they send you the correct inner tubes :mad: to match the tires?

Whatever you purchase, DO NOT assume that the tire and inner tube are a match. Call the tire manuf or go online to check the part numbers then tell them what part numbers you want!!

Recently I posted about this issue.

Yes but the question is......did they send you the correct inner tubes :mad: to match the tires?

Whatever you purchase, DO NOT assume that the tire and inner tube are a match. Call the tire manuf or go online to check the part numbers then tell them what part numbers you want!!

Recently I posted about this issue.

I don't ever let anyone send me what they think I want - I TELL them what I want, and make sure I get that. No problems with Desser using that philosophy.

Paul

Tubes/Tire match?