What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dimpling Laser Pointer

YoVuelo

I saw this idea while searching through various toy... err... tool websites. They had created a small laser pointer for locating the dimple die when doing large skins. As a new builder, I have found this somewhat frustrating and thought it a pretty clever idea. However, the price tag seemed rather high, so I took a look at making one up myself. I found all of the pieces I needed at Amazon and in the HF Aviation section. I actually ended up with enough parts to make two for less than the cost of the unit I saw on the web. I dimpled the Top Side Skins today and it worked very well. I think, over the life of the project it will save well over the time needed to fabricate it.

The laser module is a Farhop "Focusable 650nm 5mW 3-5V Laser Dot Module" and the battery/switch box is an Uxcell "3x1.5V AA Batteries Holder On Off Switch". The flexible arm and articulating joint came from the HF "inspection mirror". I assume everyone has the JB Weld needed to glue the "arm" to the battery box and the laser module to the articulating joint end. Also, I used some Velcro to hold the assembly to the DRDT unit. Be sure to get a "focusable" module as the set up distance changes and the focus is actually pretty sensitive. I'm not sure if the "cross" modules are focusable, but I figured I'd go with the sure bet. Pictures are posted below, and if anyone has questions, let me know.

https://jimpyne.smugmug.com/RV14-Tools/i-pGtHVsn/A

https://jimpyne.smugmug.com/RV14-Tools/i-hDpfQdD/A

Last edited:
Smart idea, but I have always just put the male die half in the top of the dimpling tool.
You can easily see the reflection of the pilot in the skin making it very easy to align with the hole.

Smart idea, but I have always just put the male die half in the top of the dimpling tool.