What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Canopy Doghouse to Slider Seal

ten4teg

Well Known Member
What are builders using to secure the nylon Slider Seal to the Birdhouse on the canopy. I didn't see any mention of this in the directions or drawings. Thanks

Does anybody even install it?

Not sure, but I think you will find that most people do not. I will be curious to see what folks say.

What are builders using to secure the nylon Slider Seal to the Birdhouse on the canopy. I didn't see any mention of this in the directions or drawings. Thanks

Drawing 42 makes mention of the lanyard. See view G-G. I rigged mine using a piece of nylon covered fishing leader and crimps. Getting the length right was a little tricky, but the leader material is cheap.

Dave

Fiberwire

Being an orthopaedic surgeon, I used some wasted suture material called Fiberwire. It is a braided suture material that is increddibly strong. We use it for rotator cuff repairs and anterior cruciate ligament repairs. So probably a braided fishing leader would also work.

Bill Near
-7A flying

I boogered up the nylon slide piece so I just never installed it. The sharp cornered block really doesn't seal all that well inside the rounded doghouse anyway. I plan to use foam strips inside the doghouse after painting the plane.

I'd really like to have more info about the Lanyard. nothing but pointing to where it terminates. what is it to do for you, where does the other end go? and that drawing you speak up looks like a "hook" of some sort behind the slider block. NOTHING in the text that I can find about it. Sorry. Newby to the building on an RV. jim

10 year old thread so none of the original guys may reply.