VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2019, 08:07 AM
painless painless is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Peshtigo, Wisconsin
Posts: 749
Default FlightAware/Flightradar 24 tracking

Do FlightAware or Flightradar24 track aircraft with UAT installations? I can’t see my past flights in either site. Have GRT Safefly/Uavionix Echo UAT installed. I pass my FAA report.
__________________
Jeff Orear
RV6A N782P
Peshtigo, WI
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2019, 09:07 AM
rocketman1988 rocketman1988 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunman, IN
Posts: 1,678
Default history

I don't know how far back your previous flights are but both of those apps will allow you to see some recent past data for free.

If you want a longer history, you will need to purchase one of their upgrade plans...
__________________
Bob
Aerospace Engineer '88

RV-10
Structure - 90% Done
Cabin Top - Aaarrghhh...
EFII System 32 - Done
290 HP Barrett Hung
ShowPlanes Cowl with Skybolts Fitted - Beautiful
Wiring...

Dues Paid 2018,...Thanks DR+
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2019, 10:10 AM
YellowJacket RV9 YellowJacket RV9 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL / KZPH
Posts: 1,207
Default

Yes, however the coverage is more spotty as not as many of the ground uplinks monitor UAT. Also, with FlightAware you need to create an account and change your settings to “Show Position Only flights”. Otherwise, they only show flights for which they have a field flight plan. A year ago almost none of my flights showed up. These days, at least portions of most of my flights are on there.

Chris
__________________
Chris Johnson
RV-9A - Done(ish) 4/5/16! Flying 4/7/16
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2019, 11:48 AM
Jvon811's Avatar
Jvon811 Jvon811 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fenton, MI (based FNT)
Posts: 99
Default

I also wonder this and have a theory that it has something to do with the way I'm into the ATC system.

Again, just a theory... I would love to learn from someone who knows how "the system" works.

I too have the GRT SafeFly and Uavionix Echo and had Uavionix Tech Support walk me through the set up via telephone so I'm very certain its configured correctly. The only time I consistently show up on FlightAware is when I'm getting flight following on a long XC out of state or across the state. If I'm just flying locally (KFNT, Flint, MI) they give me a local squawk code and I don't show up on FlightAware. Might have something to do with it
__________________
-Justin

RV-4 N249P O-320, Dual P-Mags, Warnke Prop, GRT Sport EX
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2019, 12:39 PM
GalinHdz's Avatar
GalinHdz GalinHdz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: KSGJ / TJBQ
Posts: 1,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowJacket RV9 View Post
Also, with FlightAware you need to create an account and change your settings to “Show Position Only flights”. Otherwise, they only show flights for which they have a field flight plan.
Try this first.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jvon811 View Post
The only time I consistently show up on FlightAware is when I'm getting flight following on a long XC out of state or across the state. If I'm just flying locally (KFNT, Flint, MI) they give me a local squawk code and I don't show up on FlightAware.
FWIW local "flight following" traffic data is not passed on to the FAA "national" system so that data is not available to anybody outside the local ATC facility.
__________________
Galin
CP-ASEL-AMEL-IR
FCC Radiotelephone (PG) with Radar Endorsement
2019 Dues Paid
www.PuertoRicoFlyer.com

Last edited by GalinHdz : 05-13-2019 at 12:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:23 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowJacket RV9 View Post
Yes, however the coverage is more spotty as not as many of the ground uplinks monitor UAT. Also, with FlightAware you need to create an account and change your settings to “Show Position Only flights”. Otherwise, they only show flights for which they have a field flight plan. A year ago almost none of my flights showed up. These days, at least portions of most of my flights are on there.

Chris
Interestingly enough, I got curious about FlightAware, brought up the App, and typed in the tail number of my little jet (N958PD). I haven’t talked to anyone, nor filed a flight plan on it, yet quite a few of my test flights show up on their tracking. Not all of them, by any means, but some of them. I can’t figure out the differences between those that do, and those that don’t - almost all of the flying has been above 12,000’ so far.

Paul
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:33 PM
Flying Canuck Flying Canuck is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 296
Default Mode S works

I don't look at FlightAware very often, but I've found that all of my flights show up on flightradar24. I have a Mode S transponder and as soon as I turn it to ALT I show up, regardless of whether I squawk 1200 or a discrete code. This is the case in Canada and in the US. I don't have ADS-B. I also run a receiver for flightradar24 (cheap way to get the Business level membership) and I know it picks up aircraft with mode S.
__________________
Claude Pitre
RV-9A #91081, C-GCPT
Dynon SkyView HDX, IO-320 and WW 200RV C/S. Flying as of August 6, 2018
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2019, 05:28 PM
wnplt wnplt is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 124
Default

FlightAware and Flightradar24 do not track UAT. I have the same echouat. It rarely triggers FlightAware but never Flightradar24 unless given a squawk code.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2019, 05:53 PM
larrynew's Avatar
larrynew larrynew is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In New Braunfels, ist das Leben schön!
Posts: 826
Default

I have the older Dynon SV-ADSB-470 which is UAT only. I always show up on Flightaware and have for several years. In all 48 lower states. VFR 1200 no flight following. Their free account keeps the history for 3 months. I use it to cross check (help me remember) where I flew for my logbook.
__________________
Larry New
RV-7A - Flying 800 hrs
48 States in 7 Days!
RV-10 "in the works"
VAF Paid - Annual Autodraft

Last edited by larrynew : 05-13-2019 at 05:55 PM. Reason: 1200
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2019, 05:53 PM
YellowJacket RV9 YellowJacket RV9 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL / KZPH
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wnplt View Post
FlightAware and Flightradar24 do not track UAT. I have the same echouat. It rarely triggers FlightAware but never Flightradar24 unless given a squawk code.
FlightAware is tracking UAT, albeit with less coverage. They are now also selling UAT receivers for their ground station uplinks. https://discussions.flightaware.com/...-antenna/45405

Chris
__________________
Chris Johnson
RV-9A - Done(ish) 4/5/16! Flying 4/7/16
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.