VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 01-06-2019, 03:24 PM
Daida Daida is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 67
Default Dynon SV background noise

Hi folks!
I am talking about a full Dynon SV suit, SV1000, X83 COM, X26 XPDR, S2 Intercom and D6 as backup.
Tested my COM system today and noticed a unknown permanent background noise when the radio is powered.
Transmitting, receiving, radio squelch, intercom squelch, intercom conversation and everything else functions flawless.
However, when the radio is powered, the intercom is switched off (on makes no difference), squelch is set, nobody is making a noise......there is this background noise which sounds like the channel is open/active. It is hardly noticeable and you probably will not notice it once the engine is running, but it is there....
I can even hear my LED 12Volt strobes....
It is not “dead” silent as i know from other com systems where the channel only opens up when the squelch level is exceeded.

Anyone with an idea what the cause is, whether it is normal or not, and how i can get rid of it?
__________________
RV-8 QB Germany
metal work complete
ECi XIO-360 installed
Dynon SV
Wings+Empenage+Fuselage=Plane
Final touches....

Almost there!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2019, 06:26 PM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,249
Default

Are you inside with florescent lights on in the hangar while testing?
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2019, 07:26 PM
bpattonsoa bpattonsoa is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Indepenence, Oregon
Posts: 291
Default

Try running a separate ground wire directly to the SV1000 case or cases if you have a double display. There is a 6/32 tapped hole for that purpose on the case, I don’t remember exactly where.
__________________
Bruce Patton
Building Rans S-20 Raven 796S reserved
Going to the light side!
RV-6A 596S flying since '99 (Sold)
HP-18 5596S flying since '89
RV-10 996S tail, quick build wing and slow build fues., - dual Skyviews with complete system, two radio and not much else. Interior completely finished with Zolatone. CF plenum, interior complete. 1624 lbs, FLYING after a 21.5 month build.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2019, 03:14 AM
Daida Daida is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 67
Default

Yes, i was in a Hangar with florescent lights, i will go back on Thursday and try it with the Hangar lights switched off.

Thanks for that hint, i hope it will be easy as this!

Whilst in the Hangar and option 1 doesn´t work, i will check for the seperate ground wire on the display case.

Thanks as well for your Input!!


I will post the outcome on Friday.


Anyone else any idea??
__________________
RV-8 QB Germany
metal work complete
ECi XIO-360 installed
Dynon SV
Wings+Empenage+Fuselage=Plane
Final touches....

Almost there!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2019, 05:42 AM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,249
Default

Florescent light will definitely create a loud noise in your system, might not be all but certainly most of your problem.
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2019, 06:49 AM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 4,008
Default

Additionally, you need to ensure that all of your audio devices have only a single path to ground. If there are multiple paths, that is called a ground loop, which can also introduce noise. It will also make your systems more susceptible to external noise sources like fluorescent ballasts.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2019, 09:13 AM
jhk770 jhk770 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Morristown, NJ
Posts: 13
Default

I have been dealing with this same issue for quite some time also. I agree with all that has been said above; Florescent/LED lights, check grounds, etc., but give Dynon tech support a call and give them your serial number. It seem that some of the early Skyviews have an issue with producing "noise". Dynon has said they have changed out some circuitry that was the cause.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2019, 03:12 PM
Simon Hitchen Simon Hitchen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 252
Default Yeap

I had the same issue with my Skyview, couldn’t isolate it at all and I tried everything.

Finally sent it back to Dynon, they knew the issue immediately and swapped out some of the circuitry and fixed the issue. 250 USD and no more issues.
__________________
Simon Hitchen
Port Perry, ON, Canada
7 Tip Up, Titan XIO-360, Sensenich FP Prop, Dynon Skyview, GTR-200, GTX-327
FLYING!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2019, 01:15 AM
Daida Daida is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 67
Default

I was in the hangar yesterday. Tried with all lights swirched off. Doublechecked ground wireing. No change.
Started to turn offthe individual components, one by one.
Isolated the COM X83 as source of the noise.
It is there as soon as the COM is powered.

Connections are according to the installation manual (i doublechecked again).
Running out of ideas...

I will contact Dynon today.
__________________
RV-8 QB Germany
metal work complete
ECi XIO-360 installed
Dynon SV
Wings+Empenage+Fuselage=Plane
Final touches....

Almost there!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2019, 04:22 PM
RV10inOz's Avatar
RV10inOz RV10inOz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane Qld. Aust.
Posts: 2,135
Default

I have seen and solved this once before on a customer aircraft. Yours might be the same.

This will seem strange, but it is what it is.

Do you have the SV-GPS cable (4 wires twisted together) running alongside the VHF com antenna co-axial cable?

If so, seperate them by running the coax through a different route.

Even if you make a temporary cable to test it. You should be using RG400 coax, but even it will be affected.
__________________
______________________________

David Brown

DYNON Authorised Dealer and Installer


The two best investments you can make, by any financial test, an EMS and APS!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.