What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Newbie Help..... AIO external power cord?

gnuse

Well Known Member
I just passed my Tech. test thanks to the inspiration from this group.

I am in the deep-end, over my head, but looking forward to learning about a hobby I have dreamed of for decades.

I think the AIO unit is my first choice (airplanes, cars, and m/c use), but it seems to not have an external power cord. As I am not an electrical expert, I am looking for guidance...... I do know about letting the "smoke" out, however. :)

MT-RTG

Had an MT-AIO, great unit, sold it for a MT-RTG, the batteries in the AIO lasted for a nice amount of time. Depending on the aircraft your putting it in I would highly suggest getting their new MT-RTG as a complete plug and play type unit with their external antenna to use inside the cockpit. I like the RTG much better than the AIO, but it depends on how you are going to use the unit.

I just passed my Tech. test thanks to the inspiration from this group.

I am in the deep-end, over my head, but looking forward to learning about a hobby I have dreamed of for decades.

I think the AIO unit is my first choice (airplanes, cars, and m/c use), but it seems to not have an external power cord. As I am not an electrical expert, I am looking for guidance...... I do know about letting the "smoke" out, however. :)

Thanks for the thoughts, Steve. I hoped to find a unit that I could use in various vehicles and aircraft.

Hi George,

I have a BigRedBee unit (here see post #3) it works perfect in the car and aircraft, just plug and play. Also I believe Byonics had made similar recently check the archives on APRS forum.

Congratulations on getting the license! It's fun to be tracked.

I hoped to find a unit that I could use in various vehicles and aircraft.

Hi Gnuse,