What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Who has some good videos on building?

nohoflyer

Well Known Member
Patron
New builder here. I'm a pro pilot but not a mechanic! I have no idea how to do any of this. I have the preview plans but I didn't get anything out of that. I've seen some good threads here on tools to buy but how do I use them? I usually go to YouTube for my home projects. Are there any particularly good teachers/demos on line?

There's a lot out there!

It won't take much searching to find what you're looking for, on Youtube Jason Ellis is posting videos of his RV-10 build, and there are literally dozens, if not hundreds, of builder logs posted online which cover all phases of peoples projects. Bruce Hill, Mike Bullock, Smitty, and Bruce Swayze quickly come to mind. While builder logs aren't specifically what you asked about, you might just find them more helpful than a video, at least I did.

Good luck!

Sounds a bit like you could use a mentor, at least to get you started. The learning curve can be steep for sure.

Perhaps there's another experienced builder in your general area who can help get you going. A request here on VAF might find someone.

There are also builder classes which have been highly recommended.

While videos are helpful, these other things are considerably more so.

For specific questions, the archives are really helpful. The Tools section, for example, might be useful.

Good luck!
Dave
RV-3B

No I don't have a dvd player.

I do have someone near me that has a plane and has been helpful. I will be going to his shop soon.

I am considering one of the basic sheet metal classes as well.

It looks like Cleveland tool has some videos. I just watched two.

Thanks for the replies.