VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 10-14-2018, 07:41 PM
Xkuzme1's Avatar
Xkuzme1 Xkuzme1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 326
Default Radio Installation

Hey folks. Id like to see if anyone has any ideas for how to install this radio with a PTT switch. It is a Flight Line 760 (FL-760). This radio has a specific diagram for installing it with a SPA-400 Intercom... which is what I have.

My current setup is:
SPA-400
single com - KLX-135a with PTT switch.

Id like to install this FL-760 with no audio panel. I want to have two different PTT switches on my stick so that I can talk on either one at the same time.

If I install it like it says (paralleling) the radios then the PTT would be broadcasting both radios simultaneously.

Thanks in advance.

Todd

here is a link to the install sheet
https://www.sigtronics.com/_pdf/air_...L-760_Inst.pdf
__________________
RV-4 - 0-320 (160HP)
www.KCFlight.org
Tinker
ATP/CFI/II/MEI
N617TN
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2018, 07:45 PM
Timberwolf Timberwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 272
Default

Put in a switch to switch the PTT ground between the radios. Aka up is comm 1 down is comm 2. However, you need to see if the radios have a TX interlock. Otherwise when you transmit on one radio, the other will pick it up and blow out the audio with static. Sorry, not familiar with either radio as far as the wiring
__________________
Shane
RV-6 IO-360 Angle valve, G3X touch
Murphy Moose M14P in progress
Aero Engineer, A&P
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2018, 07:50 PM
Xkuzme1's Avatar
Xkuzme1 Xkuzme1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 326
Default

Is there a way not to have a switch? Id like to only use PTT switches instead of a selector switch. I know a few other guys that have this set up that I fly formation with...

Did I chose a bad second radio?

T
__________________
RV-4 - 0-320 (160HP)
www.KCFlight.org
Tinker
ATP/CFI/II/MEI
N617TN
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2018, 09:05 PM
Timberwolf Timberwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 272
Default

Sure you could use 2 separate ptt switches. However, you still need to look into the TX interlock for each radio to verify they will work without picking up the transmission of the other radio.
__________________
Shane
RV-6 IO-360 Angle valve, G3X touch
Murphy Moose M14P in progress
Aero Engineer, A&P
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2018, 10:22 PM
Xkuzme1's Avatar
Xkuzme1 Xkuzme1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 326
Default

Thank you!
__________________
RV-4 - 0-320 (160HP)
www.KCFlight.org
Tinker
ATP/CFI/II/MEI
N617TN
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.