VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 09-13-2018, 05:26 AM

Default Avionics Bus/ Radio Master

I am about to start ďpre-wiringĒ and planning the power distribution. I have no experience with electrical work and have been reading everything I can find to educate myself.

I plan to use fuses for most everything (CBís for alt fld, elec trim, and autopilot).
A main bus and a separate Avionics bus (so two separate fuse blocks).

My question is, do i simply run the appropriate size wire from main bus to a switch (AV master) and then to the avionics bus? Or will i need some kind of relay, and why?

Btw, the avionics bus will only have GTR 200, GTN 625, GTX45R, and maybe G5).

Thanks.

RV-7 slow build
Tail kit COMPLETE
Wing kit COMPLETE
Fuselage kit COMPLETE
Old 09-13-2018, 06:15 AM

Default Avionics buss

I would, did, put all the avionics on the avionics buss. It is a royal pain to turn each one on and off. You do not want any of those expensive electrons exposed to the power surges happening during eng start. The only avionics that is on during start in my RV6A is the eng gauges. Also..Use a sw that locks on, like a lift lock. You really do not want to inadvertently turn it off in flt, at night, in the wx.

As much as feasible, use the same size wire, probably 20ga. If 22ga will work for an item, it is not worth messing with it. Then use the same size fuses for all on the same size wire. Remember..The fuse/CB protects the wire, not the electronics. Especially with fuses, you can reduce the number of spares you have to carry. Also much simpler/easier to build.

Since losing the Av buss due to a sw or CB fail is a real possibility, been there, done that, I put in an alternate (guarded) AV master and AV CB in parallel to the main.

I did not use any kind of relay.
2018 dues exempt but paid anyhow
F100,A7D,A10,F16,
Fokker,Boeing,McDonnell-Douglas