VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 08-06-2018, 12:05 AM
#74430 #74430 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sale, VIC (Australia)
Posts: 21
Default Compatibility - Dynon / Garmin

Hey lads,

Just wondering if someone can help me with this question....

I have installed Dynon AP servos and heated Pitot... Will Garmin avionics be compatible? Has anyone else done something similar.

I was originally planning to install a Dynon fit-out but would still like the option to do either.

I'm not keen on replacing what I currently have.

Any thoughts?

Cheers,

Dan
__________________
Dan

RV-7A
Empennage and Wings complete....
Fuselage 'rolled canoe'.
Sale, VIC
Australia
0404 869 261
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2018, 05:33 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 6,954
Default

The Dynon servos will not work with the Garmin systems.

The pitot can be used with either.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Working on Emp/Tail Cone
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2018, 07:27 AM
airguy's Avatar
airguy airguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Garden City, Tx
Posts: 4,255
Default

Correct, Dynon screens will talk to Dynon servos and Garmin screens will talk to Garmin servos - but you can't mix them.

You can run a Dynon Skyview EFIS to drive the autopilot servos and use an ARINC-429 to interface between the Garmin and Dynon screens, so you can fly a coupled approach from the Garmin.
__________________
Greg Niehues - VAF 2018 dues paid
Garden City, TX
N16GN flying! http://websites.expercraft.com/airguy/
Built an off-plan 9A with too much fuel and too much HP. Should drop dead any minute now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2018, 11:05 AM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 3,945
Default

The Dynon servos will work with AFS screens as well.

AFS is probably a more equivalent comparison to the Garmin in my opinion.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2018, 11:15 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 6,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airguy View Post
Correct, Dynon screens will talk to Dynon servos and Garmin screens will talk to Garmin servos - but you can't mix them.

You can run a Dynon Skyview EFIS to drive the autopilot servos and use an ARINC-429 to interface between the Garmin and Dynon screens, so you can fly a coupled approach from the Garmin.
To clarify/further add to Airguy's comments, yes you can use the GNS or GTN series Garmin IFR Navigators as a navigation source for the Dynon gear (with the appropriate interface). You just can't use the G3X/G3X Touch system to control the Dynon servos nor can you use the Skyview system to control the Garmin servos.

The Dynon servos are stepper motors and use the Dynon DSAB bus for communications. The Garmin servos are brushless DC servo motors and use the Garmin version of CAN bus for communications. Two totally different servo and communication methods.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Working on Emp/Tail Cone
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2018, 11:25 AM
mfleming's Avatar
mfleming mfleming is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Joseph, Oregon
Posts: 276
Default

You now know the Gamin and Dynon servos can not be interchanged BUT you do not have to replace your servo brackets if they are already installed.

The Garmin/Dynon brackets are pretty much the same and can be used for both brands of servos. Dynon and Garmin apparently copied True Traks mounting system.
__________________
Michael Fleming
Joseph, OR
sagriver at icloud dot com

RV-7 Slider #74572
Started 11/2016
Empennage completed 11/2016 (sans fiberglass)
Ailerons and flaps completed 3/2017.
Wings completed 12/2017 (sans fiberglass)
Started on QB fuselage 01/2018
Donated 2017
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-2018, 11:40 AM
scrollF4's Avatar
scrollF4 scrollF4 is offline
Moderator, Asst. Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 1,112
Default

Dan,
I have Dynon SkyView classic and Dynon A/P servos, plus a Garmin GTN650 nav system. The GTN and SkyView interface through the ARINC module beautifully, giving me a great IFR RV-7A IMHO.
__________________
Scroll

Sid "Scroll" Mayeux, Col, USAF (ret)
Northwest Regional, Roanoke TX (52F...home of DR's Van Cave)
"KELLI GIRL" N260KM RV-7A tipper, YIO-360M1B with dual PMAGs, dual SkyView, GTN-650, VPX, EarthX LiFePO.
Wrap by AircraftWraps.Com. Nose Art by VictoryGirl.com.
90% done, 90% to go...
www.mykitlog.com/scrollf4/

Proud and grateful 2018 -=VAF=- Contributor
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-2018, 04:07 PM
#74430 #74430 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sale, VIC (Australia)
Posts: 21
Default

Thanks for the info guys.

Good to know that I can swap out the servos and use the same mounts. The last thing I need is to create more work.... I'm already dreading starting the canopy.

Appreciate it,

Dan
__________________
Dan

RV-7A
Empennage and Wings complete....
Fuselage 'rolled canoe'.
Sale, VIC
Australia
0404 869 261
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-28-2018, 09:59 PM
gmcjetpilot's Avatar
gmcjetpilot gmcjetpilot is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,653
Default

Garmin in General is VERY proprietary.... not only servos.
__________________
George
Raleigh, NC Area
RV-4, RV-7, ATP, CFII, MEI, 737/757/767
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.