What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dynon D6 and Remote Compass Problem

Brockster

Well Known Member
Dynon has been very helpful in trying to resolve this issue though a cause for my problem has not been determined. I have a D6 with remote compass installed in my left wing tip with SafeAir mount. I had been flying for several years and the heading indicator on the D6 worked fine and was accurate within a couple degrees. Since I now had access to a compass rose I decided to calibrate it. The first few calibrations the D6 gave a warning that the data was not reliable. On the 3rd try this warning had disappeared and when I finished the heading would not function correctly and not give the proper heading. I first sent just the remote compass and then both the D6 and the remote compass back to Dynon per there instruction. They could not find any problem with either unit either time. The internal compass of the D6 works but is not very accurate. The compass rose I am using is set for magnetic north and my whiskey compass verifies it is accurate. I had the proper inclination and intensity programmed into the D6 per Dynon. Dynon calibrated my system and sent it back to me. The D6 recognizes the remote compass as when I disconnect it there is a warning that remote compass not installed. Each time when I power up the EFIS with the remote compass connected the heading reads correctly for what ever direction it is facing. If I move the plane with a tow bar the heading never moves and stays on the heading it was at when powered up. If I start the engine and say taxi in left hand circles the heading indicator will move but will not read below 84 degrees or higher than 210. When making a left turn in the direction lower than 84 degrees the heading indicator begins moving in the opposite direction. I have verified that the nutplates, SafeAir stainless mount screws or the aileron counter weight are n