VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 05-08-2019, 07:51 PM
PMLviator PMLviator is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Groveland CA
Posts: 42
Default Fuel gage out

Flying along at 6500 and I get a red X on the Fuel Pressure Gauge, any ideas? Both electric pump and engine driven pump seem to be working fine. where should I start looking??? Thanks for any help!

Last edited by PMLviator : 05-10-2019 at 10:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2019, 08:27 PM
Mich48041 Mich48041 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riley TWP MI
Posts: 2,886
Default

Check the fuel level sensor ground. There should be electrical continuity between the sensor mounting plate and the airframe.
Edit: Oops, I was thinking fuel level, not pressure. Sorry
__________________
Joe Gores
RV-12 Flying

Last edited by Mich48041 : 05-09-2019 at 06:32 AM. Reason: Oops, made a mistake
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2019, 09:06 PM
DHeal DHeal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Windsor, California
Posts: 824
Default

Usually, such issues are the result of poor/corroded wiring connections -- wiggle and clean the associated wires/connectors. The fuel pressure sensor is located on the upper left forward side of the firewall.

ps -- If you haven't done so in a while it is a good idea to occasionally (at the annual Condition Inspection) flush out the fuel pressure sensor supply line -- particularly if you use mogas with ethanol.
__________________
David Heal - Windsor, CA (near Santa Rosa)
EAA #23982 (circa 1965) - EAA Technical Counselor and Flight Advisor; CFI - A&I
RV-12 E-LSA #120496 (SV w/ AP and ADS-B 2020) - N124DH flying since March 2014 - 825+ hours (as of Sep 2019)!
VAF donation through June 2020.

Last edited by DHeal : 05-08-2019 at 09:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2019, 10:13 AM
PMLviator PMLviator is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Groveland CA
Posts: 42
Default

Joe
I put in a dedicated wire for for ground to the fuel tank opening and it seems to be fine.

David
I will open the fuel sensor line and purge it. Am I looking for debris or what?

Thanks for the help guys.

Joe I just saw your Edit, I was wondering how the fuel level corresponds to the fuel pressure, but thanks for the help.

Last edited by PMLviator : 05-10-2019 at 10:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2019, 10:34 AM
DHeal DHeal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Windsor, California
Posts: 824
Default

Regarding the fuel sensor line purge: I purge it mainly to flush out the old stale mogas w/ ethanol fuel that I regularly use. Over time, the ethanol separates from the mogas in the somewhat static/dead-end sensor line and creates a yucky watery stew (technical term). The purge only takes a couple of minutes to perform. I have never found any debris in the line.
__________________
David Heal - Windsor, CA (near Santa Rosa)
EAA #23982 (circa 1965) - EAA Technical Counselor and Flight Advisor; CFI - A&I
RV-12 E-LSA #120496 (SV w/ AP and ADS-B 2020) - N124DH flying since March 2014 - 825+ hours (as of Sep 2019)!
VAF donation through June 2020.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2019, 11:26 AM
Mich48041 Mich48041 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riley TWP MI
Posts: 2,886
Default

Assuming your fuel pressure sensor has 3 wires, the red one should have 5 vdc. The black wire is ground.
Measure between the black and red wires to be sure that there is 5 volts.
The green wire is signal out and connects to AV-50000A firewall connector pin 16.
The signal comes out of the AV-50000A EFIS connector pin 8 and goes to SV-EMS-220 pin 8.
Check all of those connection to be sure that they are secure and that the D-Sub pins are fully inserted into their sockets.
__________________
Joe Gores
RV-12 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2019, 11:56 AM
Piper J3's Avatar
Piper J3 Piper J3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 1,494
Default

As long as we're talking fuel sensors, I'll ask a question here....

I have dual screen Dynon D180 and D100. I just recently recalibrated my fuel quantity gage in the D180 per Dynon instructions. Now I notice that I no longer get a yellow box around the digital number of gallons remaining at 7, nor do I get a red box (steady or blinking) around the digital number of gallons remaining at 4. This used to work fine and I would also get warning on bottom of screen which needed acknowledgement.

I have contacted Dynon and they tell me that the unit they have on bench does exact same thing. They were a little surprised and don't have a solution.

Anyone else experiencing this?



__________________
-
Jim Stricker
Hinckley, Ohio (1OA2)
EAA #499867
PPL/ASEL 1970 - Sport Pilot since 2007
80 hrs Flying Aeronca Chief 11AC N86203
1130 hrs Flying 46 Piper J-3 Cub N6841H
RV-12 E-LSA #120058 AWC July 2012 N633CM
RV-12 Bought Flying Oct 2015 with 48TT - Hobbs now 490

LSRM-A Certificate 2016
Special Thanks... EJ Trucks - Crew Chief A-4 Skyhawk
MJ Stricker (Father & CFI) - 1st Lt. Captain B-17H
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2019, 12:02 PM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 4,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piper J3 View Post
As long as we're talking fuel sensors, I'll ask a question here....

I have dual screen Dynon D180 and D100. I just recently recalibrated my fuel quantity gage in the D180 per Dynon instructions. Now I notice that I no longer get a yellow box around the digital number of gallons remaining at 7, nor do I get a red box (steady or blinking) around the digital number of gallons remaining at 4. This used to work fine and I would also get warning on bottom of screen which needed acknowledgement.

I have contacted Dynon and they tell me that the unit they have on bench does exact same thing. They were a little surprised and don't have a solution.

Anyone else experiencing this?



Your picture is for the fuel lvl alarm settings, not the fuel remaining alarm. There should be another setting. Also, your fuel computer is showing 20 gallons remaining, so no alarm should be displayed. Have no idea why the lvl alarm is not working. However, I notice there is also no arm present on the dial.

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
RV-10 in progress

Last edited by lr172 : 05-10-2019 at 12:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.