What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

A really stupid new Rotax "Mandatory SB"

Bill_H

Well Known Member
Just got (Dec 23, 2015) a notice about a new Mandatory Rotax Service Bulletin Affecting All Rotax Engines!!!!

Quickly I go and read it!!!

http://legacy.rotaxowner.com/si_tb_info/serviceb/sb-all-000_r19.pdf

Stupid thing says
"Be sure you use the latest manuals." And "Drink More Ovaltine."

So now, as a good logbook keeper, I have to make a copy of it, put it in the logbook (my engine log is 3-ring binder) and add it to the SB page with a signed note of compliance.

Dumb waste of thousands of people's time.

????

Uh, what's stupid about it? Looks like a normal SB to me from any manufacturer. Am I missing something?:confused:

It's Christmas time and "A Christmas Story" is running 24 hours straight. You guys don't see the humor in that?

I am new to this SB compliance, so

While it is redundant to log compliance with SB's 1 to X only to get X+1 that says comply with SB's 1-through-X is stupid on the surface, does't it supply you with a definitive list of SB's that you can show to "someone who cares " that you haven't missed one in your compliance list? Is there another source of relevant SB's that would have shown this without another SB to list them? Or, is it your point that they could have provided the listing without making it a convoluted SB?

I asked the RotaxOwner forum to check mfg date for my engine serial number and how to determine SB’s. Response as follows:

5652766 912ULS

original factory configuration:
with fuel lines
UL2 I=2,43 with clutch
without vacuum pump
with green valve covers
without mech. tachom. pick up
without external generator
without air guide baffle
with std. temperature sensors
with screw connection UNF
with expansion tank
without air box
bent sockets for engine truss
starter large

Production Date 25/02/2009