VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 06-05-2017, 08:28 AM
KRAUSEGB KRAUSEGB is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: AGOURA, CALIFORNIA
Posts: 105
Default Zero oil pressure

After changing all of the hoses per the 5-year recommendation, I started the engine to check for any leaks and the alarm went off, showing zero oil pressure. I did not have any issues with the sending unit up to that time.
I have read previous blogs, going back for some years and not sure what the consensus is for the best sending unit replacement. I have logged 260 hours and have the Dynon 180 efis.
I intend to move the sending unit to the firewall as has been recommended by many.

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2017, 08:33 AM
jabarr jabarr is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fayetteville, Georgia
Posts: 134
Default

Did you purge the oil system after changing the hoses? Good chance there's nothing wrong with the sender if the system was not purged per the manual.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2017, 09:40 AM
rvbuilder2002 rvbuilder2002 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hubbard Oregon
Posts: 6,776
Default

Part of a properly completed purge procedure is to turn the engine over by hand until an oil pressure reading is attained so you shouldn't be starting the engine after this type of maint. and being surprised by there being no oil pressure.

With the D-180, the oil pressure sensor is fed its reference voltage from the aircraft electrical system so if you somehow started the engine but then had the master switch turned off with the screen operating on its backup battery, the oil pressure would read zero
__________________
Any opinions expressed in this message are my own and not necessarily those of my employer.

Scott McDaniels
Hubbard, Oregon
RV-6A (aka "Junkyard Special ")
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2017, 10:26 AM
Infidel's Avatar
Infidel Infidel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WV22
Posts: 807
Default

On the 912 series engine, I'd always pull the cap off the oil bottle and rotate the prop by hand until hearing the oil burping in the oil tank.
__________________
RV-4 0320\D3G 160, Whirlwind 200GA 70".
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2017, 01:48 PM
MartySantic's Avatar
MartySantic MartySantic is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 1,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvbuilder2002 View Post
With the D-180, the oil pressure sensor is fed its reference voltage from the aircraft electrical system so if you somehow started the engine but then had the master switch turned off with the screen operating on its backup battery, the oil pressure would read zero
Or had the D-180 operating on the backup battery (cause I bumped the button while getting in) with the avionics switch off. Don't ask how I know!
__________________
Marty Santic ----- W9EAA
RV-12 N128MS ----- Now Flying
My RV-12 Build Log - http://www.martysrv12.blogspot.com/
Davenport, IA

Last edited by MartySantic : 06-05-2017 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.