What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Running 91 mogas on trips

NinerBikes

Well Known Member
I am curious if some of you go to the extra effort to keep 100LL out of your engine, gearbox and motor oil when you go on longer trips where you don't refuel back at home, and how some of you might go about getting your pump gas in town and filling up your RV-12 again.

Some day, I'd like to fly from kwhp in CA to Yellowstone in a couple of days, via my RV-12, and am curious how any of you get 12 to 15 gallons of pump gas back to the airport, from a town close by, say a first stop in Mesquite, AZ.

Do most airports have a car you can borrow to get to town? Do I buy a One Wheel and ride that into town with a couple of 6 gallon plastic jerry cans and dump those in the tank back at the airport?

Newbie here, looking for some pointers or tips from more seasoned RV-12 XC travelers.

I think you are going to find the seasoned RV-12 travelers just fill up with 100LL when necessary and shorten the next oil change interval when they get home.

Noting that I have a UL350iS and not a Rotax in my -12 and burn 91 AKI here in wackifornia with 10% ethanol on a daily basis, however I burn 100LL traveling.

I flew to Oshkosh and back in July, and then out to Pensacola in September and burned 100LL both trips. I used 1oz of Decalin per 10 gallons and had no issues whatsoever. I do change my oil at 25 hours when running avgas, along with using Phillips 20w-50 aviation oil instead of the normal Mobil 1 20w-50 synthetic.

My post trip inspection showed clean plugs too, so that's what I'll do going forward.

Awesome idea!!!!

Do I buy a One Wheel and ride that into town with a couple of 6 gallon plastic jerry cans and dump those in the tank back at the airport?

Newbie here, looking for some pointers or tips from more seasoned RV-12 XC travelers.