VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2017, 09:29 AM
txshan130 txshan130 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 101
Default GNS 430 Sticky Button Repair

For those of you with "old" GNS430 or similar units...

For the last several years, my front faceplate buttons have been getting more and more unreliable. Seems like every time I went to fly it took more and more presses to activate the buttons. After checking on Garmin's repair prices, I decided I was up to the task of doing it myself

For most of us here, this would be an easy task...so here are some pics to help others make the decision which way to go! FYI, my 430 is at least 10 years old, if not a bit older.

I used DEOXIT (available at ur local Radio Shack) on the PCB and on the underside of each switch...

After putting it all back together, the switches all work like new again...very happy to have saved lots of money and time!

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]


https://www.dropbox.com/s/tjjftsowpp...x1024.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bzez2rnc76...53656.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kuloyt9eof...53703.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ek5ds4lk5m...00323.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l7n2xe21x1...00223.jpg?dl=0
__________________
Brian Shannon
Katy, TX
RV6 N7463B

Last edited by txshan130 : 02-28-2017 at 09:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2018, 07:44 PM
dougbush dougbush is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Posts: 1
Default

I'd really like to do this repair! Could you tell me more about how you did it?

I was intimidated as soon as I loosened the CDU Assembly and saw all those paper-thin ribbon cables and how little room there was to work on disconnecting them. Any tips?

Some of the ribbon cables seem to be soldered on to the backs of the concentric rotary switches--did you disconnect them? How?

How did you take those concentric rotary switches out?

How did you get the LCD out?

How does the front plastic (with the buttons and printing on it) come off?

Finally, how do the little metal dome switches come off the PCB and how do you re-attach them?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:20 PM
txshan130 txshan130 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 101
Default

PM me with your phone number and a good time to call.. I will go thru it with you.
__________________
Brian Shannon
Katy, TX
RV6 N7463B
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2018, 06:44 AM
cderk cderk is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 269
Default

I did this as well a few months ago after my enter button pretty much quit. Now its as good as new. Peeling up the plastic cover was a little nerve racking, but the DeOxit really made quick work of all of this.

I work in an engineering department, so I borrowed a 12v power supply and was able to rig up the unit in Test mode so I could bench test it after i was done with surgery. I would have hated driving 45 minutes to the hangar, only to find that i screwed something up.
__________________
RV10 - #41673
http://n688cd.wordpress.com
N688CD Reserved
1980 Piper Archer II
2018 Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2018, 10:04 AM
BMC_Dave BMC_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 146
Default

So I'm having this exact issue on my 430 that was upgraded to a 430W in 2017, it's a 2007 unit originally. I'd really appreciate if anyone could give some detail on how to get the face plate off, it's not immediately apparent and I don't want to damage the unit. I've tugged on some things as hard as I dare and nothing has budged.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2018, 02:29 PM
txshan130 txshan130 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 101
Default

Maybe post some pics as to what stage you are at... It's been a long time since I did it so I probably won't be much of a help anymore. Hopefully some other guys chime in with more recent info.



QUOTE=BMC_Dave;1266858]So I'm having this exact issue on my 430 that was upgraded to a 430W in 2017, it's a 2007 unit originally. I'd really appreciate if anyone could give some detail on how to get the face plate off, it's not immediately apparent and I don't want to damage the unit. I've tugged on some things as hard as I dare and nothing has budged.[/quote]
__________________
Brian Shannon
Katy, TX
RV6 N7463B
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2018, 02:49 PM
RONSIM's Avatar
RONSIM RONSIM is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 829
Default GNS 430 Repair Manual on line

I googled "Garmin GNS 430 Button Repair" and, in the list, found a link to the repair/maintenance manual ------ it gives some drawings and instruction for removing and replacing components ----- I did not read in detail, but it might be what you need --- (my 430 is starting to get sticky buttons)

Ron
__________________
RV-10 Co-built, maintained, flown (sold)
RV-8A Maintained and flown (Sold)
RV-6A Bought and Flying (N177RV), upgrades $$$
IO360, 180HP/CS, AFS 5600T, D10A, G650, G430, G327, ADS-B, VIZ385
Very Happy Contributor
Comm, CFII, A&P
Based at KCLW (Clearwater, FL)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2018, 03:55 PM
f14av8r's Avatar
f14av8r f14av8r is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa (Wimauma actually)
Posts: 376
Default Steely Eyed Missile Man

Brian,
You Sir, are a Steely Eyed Missile Man! I would never consider tearing into my 430 like that and I'm a Navy trained electronics technician! The big knob on the left side of my 430 just quit working and I returned it to Garmin for repair. They will charge me a fortune! Glad it worked out for you. Nice work!
Randy
__________________
Randy King
Tampa (Wimauma), Florida
RV-4 N212CS (sold)
RV-8 N814DC (flying)
Flying an A320 to pay the bills
Exempt and gladly donating anyway - Current through Jan 2019
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2018, 04:17 PM
BMC_Dave BMC_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 146
Default

The CMM didn't seem to have any useful information regarding the removal of the face plate. Since it was upgraded in May of 2017 I emailed Garmin asking if this unit was still under warranty, that's the obvious preferred choice. I'll wait to hear back from them, but I'm pessimistic.

I've not had anything apart, aside from removing the dials.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2018, 09:29 PM
sglynn's Avatar
sglynn sglynn is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 619
Default king kx-155

This is great. I'd like to do this to the push buttons on my King KX-155 NavCom. Might you know how to open it so I can access it with DyOxy5?

thanks
__________________
Steve Lynn
RV-7A
95% Complete
Ready for first start
Anacortes, WA
www.mykitlog.com/sglynn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:17 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.