VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #51  
Old 12-29-2018, 12:23 PM
Piper J3's Avatar
Piper J3 Piper J3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 1,386
Default

I don't know if D-1000 can be adjusted after initial calibration. The D-180 that I have can't be changed and re-calibration would be required.

That being said, the design of the 912ULS fuel tank doesn't allow the electric resistance float sender to register above ~17 gallons because of the tapered shape of the top of the tank. Between 17–20 gallons will only register 17 gallons. If you start with a full tank you’ll need to burn off ~ 4 gallons before the fuel gage will begin to register actual amount in the tank. If you tell the fuel computer that the tank is full it will begin registering fuel burned and amount remaining to waypoint right from the start of the flight.
__________________
-
Jim Stricker
Hinckley, Ohio (1OA2)
EAA #499867
PPL/ASEL 1970 - Sport Pilot since 2007
80 hrs Flying Aeronca Chief 11AC N86203
1130 hrs Flying 46 Piper J-3 Cub N6841H
RV-12 E-LSA #120058 AWC July 2012 N633CM
RV-12 Bought Flying Oct 2015 with 48TT - Hobbs now 441

LSRM-A Certificate 2016
Special Thanks... EJ Trucks - Crew Chief A-4 Skyhawk
and MJ Stricker (CFI) - 1st Lt. Captain B-17H
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-29-2018, 04:00 PM
Mich48041 Mich48041 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riley TWP MI
Posts: 2,838
Default

From the SkyView Installation Guide page 7-49, fuel level sensors must be calibrated. Your SkyView display
utilizes onscreen wizards that help you do this. Go to the EMS Calibration Menu to access these wizards
(SETUP MENU > HARDWARE CALIBRATION > EMS CALIBRATION)
The fuel sensor float will hit the top of the tank before the tank is completely full. So the high limit
will be less than 20 gallons, but should be much more than 14.4 gallons.
If calibrating the Dynon can not fix the problem, the sensor float arm might not be properly bent.
__________________
Joe Gores
RV-12 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-29-2018, 05:50 PM
NinerBikes NinerBikes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Granada Hills
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mich48041 View Post
From the SkyView Installation Guide page 7-49, fuel level sensors must be calibrated. Your SkyView display
utilizes onscreen wizards that help you do this. Go to the EMS Calibration Menu to access these wizards
(SETUP MENU > HARDWARE CALIBRATION > EMS CALIBRATION)
The fuel sensor float will hit the top of the tank before the tank is completely full. So the high limit
will be less than 20 gallons, but should be much more than 14.4 gallons.
If calibrating the Dynon can not fix the problem, the sensor float arm might not be properly bent.
Thank you, Joe!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-29-2018, 07:05 PM
RFSchaller RFSchaller is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,460
Default

I have the same issue with the float hitting the upper stop at 17 gallons. You could always bend the float wire to read 20 gal at the top of the tank, but I prefer to have accurate level indication when the tank is low rather than high. I donít care if I have 17 or 20 gallons but I do care if I have 2 or 4 if Iím ever dumb enough to be in that situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:20 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.