VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 01-11-2019, 06:03 PM
DennisRhodes DennisRhodes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Taylorsville, Ga
Posts: 680
Default GTX 335 option for WAAS GPS

The GTX 335 transponder info says that it can be purchased with an internal WAAS compliant Position source suitable for ADSB OUT . Is there an indicator or P/N that designated that the unit has that feature or do they all have that feature. I notice that the bundle kit for that ADSB comes with a GA35 WAAS external GPS antenna.
My question would be: would any GTX335 be capable of ADSB out if the GA35 antenna was added to the mix. and I guess the next question would be would there be additional Garmin software and or major cost envolved with that other than the purchase of a GA35 ??
__________________
DRRhodes
2019 VAF dues paid
RV9 N908DR

Last edited by DennisRhodes : 01-11-2019 at 06:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2019, 06:21 PM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 9,888
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by DennisRhodes View Post
The GTX 335 transponder info says that it can be purchased with an internal WAAS compliant Position source suitable for ADSB OUT . Is there an indicator or P/N that designated that the unit has that feature or do they all have that feature. I notice that the bundle kit for that ADSB comes with a GA35 WAAS external GPS antenna.
My question would be: would any GTX335 be capable of ADSB out if the GA35 antenna was added to the mix. and I guess the next question would be would there be additional Garmin software and or major cost envolved with that other than the purchase of a GA35 ??
I installed that in my Tiger last year with the bundle package.

The transponder will output ADSB but needs a "certified" source. If can be fed from an external GPS but if you get the GA35 antenna if becomes self contained. It still needs an altitude input, but Garmin also has a small (really small) altitude encoder that fits on the rear of the tray. With this the it was essentially a stand-alone installation in my old Tiger and deleted a 30 years old Narco encoder with the tray mounted encoder.

The tiny sensor -

__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2019, 06:22 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,133
Default

Not all 335's have built in WAAS receiver.

Non WAAS PN: 010-01214-01
With Built in WAAS PN: K10-00276-03
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2019, 07:50 PM
Christopher Murphy Christopher Murphy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: colorado
Posts: 821
Default I put it in my RV4

I had a shop install mine back in march. Not that i dont like the gtx335..but i had decided on an Apparo stratus when I went in to buy the equipment. garmin had their unit for the same price so i went with it. I have regretted that I didnt stick with the stratus and get in and out for less money.

Cm
__________________
RV-4 "Mr. Twister"
Pitts S1S "Mexican Red" sold and missed
Mr. Twister Airshows
Rocky Mountain Renegades
the mission... have fun.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2019, 07:52 PM
DennisRhodes DennisRhodes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Taylorsville, Ga
Posts: 680
Default

Thanks Walt, i thought there must be some difference in the ones which had position source orher than just the antenna. One has to stay alert with used equipment classified!!
__________________
DRRhodes
2019 VAF dues paid
RV9 N908DR
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:29 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.