VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-07-2019, 06:00 AM
mulde35d's Avatar
mulde35d mulde35d is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 59
Default G3X system updates

That's an interesting idea I hadn't thought about it in regards to system updates. It would be too easy to run a parallel power wire from a dedicated hot CB/Switch to one of the many power inputs on the GTN 650 and GDU 460. It could normally be left open, and then turned on / closed to provide power for updates without having to touch the master. I like the idea, just have to locate it so it doesn't accidentally get flipped as it would essentially be its own hot bus. This is why I like sharing these things on this forum.
__________________
Jon
RV-14A #140512:
Empennage Complete
Wings Ordered
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-07-2019, 06:08 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 4,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulde35d View Post
That's an interesting idea I hadn't thought about it in regards to system updates. It would be too easy to run a parallel power wire from a dedicated hot CB/Switch to one of the many power inputs on the GTN 650 and GDU 460. It could normally be left open, and then turned on / closed to provide power for updates without having to touch the master. I like the idea, just have to locate it so it doesn't accidentally get flipped as it would essentially be its own hot bus. This is why I like sharing these things on this forum.
The G3X manual details backup battery inputs, pretty standard stuff.
The GTN power requirments are such that multiple HD pins are tied together, they are not meant to be used as seperate power inputs.
__________________
Walt Aronow, Dallas, TX (52F) RV7A, IO360, C/S, 1500+hrs

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-07-2019, 07:12 AM
mulde35d's Avatar
mulde35d mulde35d is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 59
Default

Good point Walt, forgot the HD pins can only handle about 3 amps each. Should still be simple enough to run a hot battery wire through a breaker/switch as if it were a backup battery. I am thinking locate it above the circuit breakers away from all other switches or next to the USB extension plug above the GDU460. I know I havenít posted a panel layout yet, but it is coming.
__________________
Jon
RV-14A #140512:
Empennage Complete
Wings Ordered
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-07-2019, 07:15 AM
Southern Pete Southern Pete is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: England
Posts: 19
Default

Is a separate avionics bus required? If it is, consider 2 feeds as if either the switch or relay fails then all on that bus are lost.
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-07-2019, 12:01 PM
mulde35d's Avatar
mulde35d mulde35d is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 59
Default

Great question on the avionics bus. I used one primarily to protect the avionics during startup and provide a fast method of load shedding. However, based on what I have read, I don’t believe the Garmin products need the protection. Maybe a Garmin rep can pipe in on the topic.
__________________
Jon
RV-14A #140512:
Empennage Complete
Wings Ordered

Last edited by mulde35d : 01-07-2019 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-07-2019, 03:06 PM
control control is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulde35d View Post
Great question on the avionics bus. I used one primarily to protect the avionics during startup and provide a fast method of load shedding. However, based on what I have read, I donít believe the Garmin products need the protection. Maybe a Garmin rep can pipe in on the topic.
One of the main features with GAD27 is to have stabile power during startup, I now note that you have not connected those pins in your diagram. Check the G3X installation manual for what LRUs they suggest being on this "bus".
__________________
RV-14 kit #140138
I have entered the 90% done, 90% left to do zone
Http://magnusrv.blogspot.se
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.