VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #11  
Old 01-02-2019, 12:47 PM
Mark33's Avatar
Mark33 Mark33 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by az_gila View Post
Does it really have to be that accessible? The FAA-required transponder checks can be done with the unit in place - the only adjustments needed are for altitude encoding and they can be done by front panel programming I bet.
You may very well be correct Gil. It just seems like every time Iíve ever had a transponder check done that the shop that did it pulled it out for some reason. Maybe I need to go to a different shop. LOL!!

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-02-2019, 01:00 PM
Mark33's Avatar
Mark33 Mark33 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ in EP View Post
Based on the information provided by Levi a few posts ago, this is how it worked out for my install:

View from the back of the sub panel


View at the front of the sub panel


I'm pretty happy with the result, and the harness on my Stein panel reaches perfectly in this location. Thanks for the tip, Levi!
Great job Chris!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-02-2019, 01:07 PM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 9,875
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark33 View Post
You may very well be correct Gil. It just seems like every time Iíve ever had a transponder check done that the shop that did it pulled it out for some reason. Maybe I need to go to a different shop. LOL!!

Mark
The only time the old KT76A came out of the Tiger was to check the serial number for the paperwork...

The Skyview one has it's serial number accessible from the main EFIS screen, I'm sure the Garmin is similar.
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-02-2019, 01:20 PM
mgomez's Avatar
mgomez mgomez is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California, USA
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark33 View Post
Iím installing the same unit in my -7 build. I donít know the exact location that Iím going to install it yet but I think it needs to be in an area thatís readily accessible. Out of all the rest of the avionics installed, the transponder is the one piece of equipment thatíll need to be able to come out on a regular basis to get checked. Iím planning on fabricating a couple of hinged fold-down trays between the sub panel and the firewall on which to mount all of my remote mount avionics, but I think Iíll probably mount the transponder on the bottom side of one of the fold-down trays just so itís easily accessible/removable.

Mark
Why does it need to come out? I thought it was tested in the aircraft.
__________________
Martin Gomez
Redwood City, CA
"My RV-7 is a composite airplane: it's made of aluminum, blood, sweat, and money"
RV-7 Slider QB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-02-2019, 01:43 PM
Mark33's Avatar
Mark33 Mark33 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgomez View Post
Why does it need to come out? I thought it was tested in the aircraft.
Yeah, Gil was asking the same question. Maybe (hopefully) it doesnít. Like I told Gil, it just seems like I remember mine having to come out for the shop to do their check. Iím not sure exactly why they had to remove it, but maybe it was just to verify the serial number.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-02-2019, 02:03 PM
CJ in EP CJ in EP is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Eden Prairie, MN
Posts: 47
Default Behind the sub panel, or?

I chose this method not necessarily because I felt the GTX would need to be removed with any regularity, but instead because I didn't want anything mounted inaccessibly behind the sub panel. With five remote boxes, this was the only way to go.
__________________
Chris Hrabe
Eden Prairie, MN
RV-9A
Finishing Engine / Starting Panel
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.