What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Wing install to center section

chrishalfman

Hi! I am nearing the fit up of the wings into the fuselage. While fitting up the gear mounts (7A), I put the wood spacers in the center section I had made up (a long, long time ago, in a land far away). Then, I verified the spacers were the right thickness. It seems my center section is about 1/16" too narrow. I pried and wrenched the center section apart (with pieces of wood) but am extremely concerned with trying to the wing's spars in there. They've spread a bit, but it's still gonna be a tiiiigggghhhht fit. In fact, had to touch up the gear mount holes before I put the gear in as the lower flange on the front assembly moved forward a bit in the gear mount hole. Is this normal? I asked Van's and basically they said, it's a pre-punched kit and it should fit. First, let me say I'm a mechanical engineer that did product design for 6 years and am completely _amazed_ at how things fit without tooling, but I'm skeptical. Don't really want to jack up the mating surfaces trying to get it together.

Any suggestions or 'other knowledge' that may be relative?

Thanks in advance,
Chris
RV72079

Keep in mind ....

.... wood is notorious for not being dimensionally stable. (temperature, humidity, phase of the moon, etc.). OTOH, the wing spars are. I would not worry about it if I were you.

I'd get out some calipers and measure the wing spar and center section slot dimensions now - it will either tell you that you have a problem, or relieve your worries! If I understand you correctly, what doesn't fit is the wood - and yes, that can change dimension.