VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Autopilots
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-15-2017, 04:20 PM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 1,731
Default

My roll servo went out prior to first flight and I had to do the same thing. I rang out the wires and knew they were good but Dynon wanted me to do the swap.

To make things easier, I made another servo harness so I could just plug the pitch servo wiring into the roll servo. Same problem so it went in for repair and came back working like new.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ AFP FM-150 FI, 1 PMag, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter, PlanePower Alt
Catto 3 blade NLE, FlightLines Interior, James cowl, plenum & intake, Anti-Splat -14 seat mod and nose gear support
All lines by TSFlightLines
NSDQ

"The object of the game, gentlemen, is not to cheat death: the object is not to let him play."
Patrick Poteen, Sgt. U.S. Army
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-15-2017, 08:33 PM
Aggie78 Aggie78 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 351
Default Well, I was hoping for something sexy...

Like a failed pitch servo I could point at and go "A ha!" to.

Not to be.

Moving the pitch servo over the roll servo and hooking it up there and the pitch servo worked like a champ.

So...Not a servo issue, it's an accursed, mundane wiring issue. Bah!!

Tomorrow I do the deep dive behind/under the panel to find the offending connector/wire harness on that end.

Hopefully, it will just be the connector and not a cut wire under the floor somewhere.

Posting all of this for future Dynon troubleshooters....
__________________
Rob Schroer
RV-7/N75WV
YIO-360-M1B
T67-Hicks Airport, Texas
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-01-2018, 09:20 AM
Logan Logan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 35
Default Update?

Hi, Rob. Did you find a bad connection to this issue? I am facing same issue.

I had to swap pins in the Molex that powered the pitch servo and pitch trim to fix a reverse pitch trim issue. When I plugged it back in, I lost both AP servos. I am sure I must have messed something up in the molex, as it was the ONLY think I touched, but can't for the life of me get it back to working. Hoping for a new aha moment for something else to look at.

Thanks,
Logan
__________________
Logan Dent

RV-14A Complete!
Airworthiness cert issued June 27, 2018
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-01-2018, 02:29 PM
Logan Logan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 35
Default

Duh. Circuit breaker had tripped. As I am using a electronic circuit breaker system, I had to check the right page on the EFIS to see and reset it.

Posting to remind myself and others to start with simple checks first!
__________________
Logan Dent

RV-14A Complete!
Airworthiness cert issued June 27, 2018
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:10 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.